Hello STEEMIT! My Official introduceyourself post!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone! I am skyefox! I have been lurking around here on and off for a couple weeks trying to figure out how everything works. One thing I have noticed is that people seem to enjoy the REAL introductions of others. It is nice to see a community so welcoming! :D 


Who am I?

I am a self employed entrepreneur of sorts. What does that mean? It means that I have managed to find ways to scrape enough money together to pay bills since last April using primarily the internet. It has been a long 16 months of self employment with many ups and downs and many surprises both good and bad. I haven't found out a secret formula to anything yet and I am constantly learning new things about using the internet as an income source. And I really hope that someday Steemit is in my list of ways that I make money online.  Although I am not making a ton of income online, being self employed has given me so many freedoms that I just wish the entire population could experience. I get to dictate when I have to work and that has allowed for much better family time.

My Family

It is my fiance, I, and my daughter.


What do I enjoy?

My favorite things are family, friends, camping/primitive survival, fishing, amateur photography, and gardening. When I am not sitting at the computer clicking around I am often found in the north woods of my state camping with my family.

I am a big believer in self sufficient living and it's currently one of my deepest passions. I do not like practices and laws that allow the destruction of Earth leaving it torn for the next generations Like many people involved with bitcoin I am not the biggest fan of the USD.  But I am knowledgeable enough to understand that there is a system that was put in place before my birth that dictates that I must use USD to acquire much of what I need/want to live a self sustaining lifestyle. I can't just walk off into the woods and plant seeds and chopping down trees trying to build a house. So here I am day by day collecting as much USD as possible so that maybe sometime in the next years I can move away from the city and grow organic heirloom vegetables to sell. I found myself feeling kind of useless while I was employed by other people. I felt like I was spending my time fulfilling THEIR dream and not MY DREAM. "But what is my dream?" I often wondered.  I believe everyone has their "thing" or "dream" that gives them a sense of purpose, for me factory work or customer service was not that.  What I believe I am here to do is to bring healthy organic food to people, even if it is just locally. In the end... I just want to contribute to people less fortunate not struggling with food.

I have been reading and learning a lot about gardening/farming these last 2 years. Currently I live in the city with VERY LITTLE space which gave me only 1 option. Container gardening.  I have learned a lot this growing season. I have learned a ton about how these types of vegetables grow and how each plant is really quite unique, it's been fascinating. Personally I love tomatoes and that's why I chose them as my first experiment. Hopefully sometime in the future I will be able to have more of a "homestead" style life but for now I am stuck in the city..

I will now share with you some of my amateur photography that I have collected this summer. These are mainly my nature photos with some of my travels and garden put in there. I hope you enjoy!


Here are a few photos of the progression of my tomatoes,cucumbers, jalapenos and sweet peppers that I started inside under LED lights and then grew on my deck.

The first emergence! 

The tomatoes have sprouted and they want light! These veggies were started under a 45 Watt LED from that cost 40$.


Water droplets



Tomatoes last week as they were changing colors!

A Picture from today to prove these are my plants for  you guys! (Sorry for the glare on the paper!)

Although you can't really see my steemit sign on the deck, that's what that paper is... I know, some of these plants look sad but like I said, this was a huge learning year for me. A few things that I have learned is that tomatoes do not grow very well in small pots. They really need room to do well and absorb the nutrients they need to flourish. From left to right some of the things I have here are: cherry tomatoes, kale, rosemary, red cabbage, sweet peppers,(hard to see on the bench back there) pink brandywine tomatoes, and jalapenos.(off screen to the right along with my basil and chocolate mint)

As for the sad tomato plant lying on the deck, a storm came through and broke his main vein, but he seems to still be getting some nutrients from the roots so I left him there since he has fruit on him... lol.


Now that you have seen my garden, I will share with you some photos from this summer. Most of these photos are from my fun time away from the keyboard, after all that's what this is all about right?  As you can see I really enjoy the nature photography. I am learning a lot about that as well. I invested in a Canon rebel EOS T5 Bundle for $500 this year as part of my making money online mission and I enjoy the investment!

I set up my camera and got some great shots of some small birds coming into my moms bird feeder, if you enjoy these pictures you should have seen the cool video I got!

Yes, that's a Wisconsin Sour Cream container :D

"Wait, I want 2 seeds... but my mouth is full....hmmm"

A cool picture (no pun intended)  of a bush after a freezing rain in the beginning of winter.

My nephews playing on the tire swing. I think the older is trying to fling his little brother off, but he's a monkey and there is no way he will get him off!

My fiance (left) and sister enjoying the sun during our camping trip to an island in the northern part of Wisconsin. We will definitely be back there!

A picture of my family. My fiance, Myself, and my daughter. I am the goony guy with the hardcore widows peak going on. I was there to see nature, not to have a nice haircut go easy on me guys. 

Food was looking good, I was excited about having a new camera so I took a picture of my creation to later turn it into a Pinterest pin for a "juicy cheeseburger recipe"

More food that looked good, so I made a Pinterest pin out of the recipe. 

Beartooth pass HWY in Montana. One of the most beautiful roads I have ever traveled...if you travel out to Montana this is Northeast of Yellowstone and it has AMAZING views. There is people with motorcycles and GoPro cams everywhere!

A small tree dwelling bird. He was shy but I got a shot of him.

The closest I got to a buffalo. We came around a corner and this guy was just standing off the road. I was trying to talk to him telepathically and tell him what a beautiful animal he was. 

Our camping site and outhouse where we stayed in the Beartooth mountains. For 17$ a night you can't go wrong!

Louis and Clark cave tours, this was simply amazing! Cost was 15$ and it was worth every penny! We got to go nearly a mile into the cave, over 600 ft down in elevation as you travel through. If you are in the area for tourism stuff then I highly suggest it. But make sure you don't get the tour guide "Johnny", he was a negative Nancy!

The exit to the cave.

A deer visitor in our campsite.

Elk. I couldn't get too close to these guys.

One of the many hotsprings in Yellowstone National Park.

Good ol' Faithful!

Just a neat photo of some Montana silos. There are lots of those, just like in Wisconsin!

A little garter snake buddy that I found during our adventures. He didn't even excrete his stink juice, which means I didn't make him feel threatened.

OMG sunset

Fiance and sunset

Water droplets on pine needles. I just thought this looked cool. 

I found an egg. And NO, there isn't a pokemon in it. And IF there was, it would have been mewtwo. 

So while we were camping we decided to throw some copper wire in the fire.. and WOW! This is what happens!

I went morel hunting this summer, I didn't find morels but I found this cool little fun guy.... hahahah

I went to go night fishing while we were camping at the island and I came across the biggest spider I have ever seen in Wisconsin..... JEEEEZ

Now I understand why that giant spider lives here... he likes sunsets too...

We don't get sunsets like this often..

A goodbye picture to the sunset in Montana. Thank you for reading! See you around!

Sort:  

Right on man - thanks for sharing and look forward to seeing more - following & upvoted.

Welcome! Great pics. Those views are amazing. Especially the sunsets.

Thank you! The sunsets in Montana were amazing. You can get great sunsets anywhere but the mountains there just seemed to just stack clouds up in such a way that we got amazing sunsets quite a few days!

One of the better introduction posts I've seen! Super in depth, and love the pictures!

Welome to Steemit!

Wow, I appreciate the compliment. As I said in the post, I love the warm welcoming quality of this community. See you around!

Welcome. Great intro.

Welcome to Steemit!

Boldness, without the rules of propriety, becomes insubordination.

Interesting post. Well done :)

Ciao! Ciao!

Why is the ocean blue? -Because all the little fish go blu, blu blu.

Welcome to the Steemit Community!

Check out this helpful post from me to newcomers.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@augustinsong/are-you-new-to-steemit-well-if-so-come-join-out-steemit-chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12