My journey Home ; Living in a School Bus

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)


My dream Tiny Home School Bus
My dad and I converted a 90 School Bus into a Tiny Home on Wheels. My mom was right next to us, making sure we had plenty to eat, to drink and anything we needed. I love my parents so much.

Big Blue Number 5
The two buses were standing side by side in the church lot down in Long Beach, Cali. Bus number 5, left, picked me. My favorite band in high school was Sublime, so it was an honor to have gotten a Long Beach Bus. Sublime, What I got, was the first tune played on the radio.

It's perfect!
It's the absolute perfect bus. Original owner was a church. Its already painted a nice blue. No need to take off any of the School Bus gear. Roof rack with stairs. Drives and rides smooth.

Grinding down the rivets
We hacked off hundreds, if not thousands of rivets. Gotta get all the roof panels off.



Quite the process
This was by far the hardest and most difficult part of the build. Most people leave their ceilings in, but I wanted to change out the insulation and make it look nicer and more comfortable.

All rivets demolished
All rivets removed, and old insulation cleaned up and out. Ready for Styrofoam insulation and one wooden panel at a time.


Beginnings of dining area
This will be the dining area. Putting in the wood beams, insulation. We decided to leave the stock heater, which when it got cold, it really made a huge difference to heat up the bus while driving.

Poop
This is where the poop will go.

Job Site
Demolition was fun. Now comes the fun part. Putting up walls and building furniture. Everything in the bus is custom made.

Woot woot!
We got some hard wood.

It's fancy
Left over tile from a project my dad worked on. We tried to recycle and reuse as much as we could.

Deep Sink
For doing partial laundry and for arts and crafts.

Getting there!
Piece by piece we built everything. Slow and steady wins it.

Fire in the hole
The poop hole is on fire.

He's the Handy man
I'm the shade man.

ConAir
My dads idea for storage and putting an A/C in place. Its been tremendously useful and I recommend this to anyone building a Skoolie.



Ja, its good.
Toilet is good to go.

The finished product
This is the final build photo.



Water and heat
Little electric heater and water dispenser.

Off grid ready
Solar power, converters, inverter, batteries and all that jazz.


Upgrading my home


It's a beautiful world
On this trip I've seen the most incredible skies. Billions of stars at night. Sunrises here, sunsets there. Its nice to sleep under a different sky each night.



Almost 10,000 miles
Lots of driving in 2.5 months. I couldn't find a better way to keep track of the states I went to, so I wrote it on part of my ceiling.


Water Front Property
Home is where you park it, and I wanted to live by the water for a night.

Bus Driver
I'm the man that drives the blue bus.




This is where the magic happens

#BusLife

Safe travels and good vibes!





Badlands National Park. Driving through here made me feel like the bus was driving on the moon. Simply incredible!

Thank you for visiting

Thanks for taking some time out of your day to read about a dude who rides around, and lives in a school bus.
You can see more pics and read my blog at https://www.skoolielove.com/

Make it a great day!




Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride as much as you can!

Thank you, feels great to be here!

You know it! Ride it like I built it!

Welcome to Steemit from a fellow skoolie converter! Your bus is lovely. I look forward to hearing more about the build and your trip on your blog. Just curious, what's Ben Affleck doing on your bus?

Sweet! Right on. How long have you been living in a Skoolie?

It's a fun game I play with my images where I hide faces. Theres about 15 more hidden throughout the pics.

HAHA I love it. We are still building ours. It's been a long road but we look forward to moving in come springtime! I post about it under #slowrollinghome 🚌💨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77