Hi Steemit! I’m Andrew Wagner, Vancouver’s Cryptocurrency Evangelist

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

Sorry I’m late to the party. I got into cryptocurrency back when Bitcoin was worth around a dollar, and think everything should use the blockchain. At first, I thought Steemit would be more like Reddit, which I was never really into as a personal user. Blogging has always appealed to me, though, so now that STEEM is really taking off, I thought I’d give it a try!

I’ve always been into technology and libertarianism, but finding a career combining those things took me on a unique journey. I can do a bit of advanced math and coding, but I never finished my degree in those fields; I’m really good at writing, social media and community organizing, however, and like to say I speak fluent laymen. I use this to preach the good word of Satoshi.

I used to just co-run an ESL group. It got really big, with over 6,000 members on Meet Up and 17,000 likes on Facebook. This gave me connections to and leverage over local event venues, which I used to spread Bitcoin adoption. Some of the business owners in my network thought it was crazy, but the ones who didn’t were soon wowed by the rabid fanboyism of the Bitcoin community.

The world’s first Indian restaurant in the world to accept Bitcoin made CoinDesk, and the Waves Coffee House where our ESL group still meets every day came to house the world’s first Bitcoin ATM thanks to the Bitcoiniacs. I became one of the driving forces behind the Bitcoin Co-op and hosted all kinds of events--it was a lot of fun.

The most famous of those is CoinFest, the world’s first and only decentralized autonomous cryptocurrency convention. It occurs simultaneously at cities around the world over a week-long period--only at venues which accepts/support cryptocurrency--and is free for all to attend. Administered by a distributed group of independent organizers, events range from small pub nights to full-on conventions. They may also include awesome parties like this one (by the DDP):

It became a lifestyle for me, which is how I wound up with a Bitcoin tattoo. I told the owner the Fall Tattooing that I'd do it if he started accepting Bitcoin, and later, more Bitcoin customers came to visit. Lead by example.

Unfortunately, spreading Bitcoin adoption eventually grew out of style, so I branched out into other cryptocurrencies, blockchains, smart property and contracts. I became a popular writer at Bitcoin Magazine, then moved onto NewsBTC, where I was soon promoted to Community Manager & Editor. You’ll find my more journalistic/academic stuff there.

Eventually, I started to get pretty well-known in the blockchain industry. I’ve given lots of presentations, notably for BIL, and been on the radio countless times. Most recently, I was on Bitcoins & Gravy with John Barrett; I’ve also been featured on InsideBitcoins, BlockTalk, the Crypto Show and even local newspapers.

Possibly my most interesting opportunity, however, was the time I was flown to Dubai to teach blockchain technology to the Nigerian government. At first, I didn’t believe the email I got from Adeseyoju “Mighty” Abimbola, but I couldn’t understand where the scam would lie in giving me plane tickets and a free hotel room with room service. I politely warned him that I would abuse the mini bar.

These days, I’m back in Vancouver, still working on NewsBTC, CoinFest, and now blockchain-based video games such as Huntercoin. I’m very locally active, and love to hang out at Vancouver’s decentralized hack/community space… I look forward to sharing them with you all, and donating the STEEM proceeds when appropriate. Always for the cause!

Sort:  

Hi Andrew,

Can you verify that this is indeed you; perhaps with a link on your FB or other platforms?

This will help with the upvotes as well :-)

Thanks
Cg

Thanks for the advice. I posted to verify on social media, like FB for example: https://www.facebook.com/SirWagginston/posts/10154585854597313?pnref=story

wellcome

Welcome to the party! Still lots of room for growth on Steemit the market cap is only $223 Million, Bitcoin is over $10 Billion. How many Bitcoins did you buy at $1? Are you a millionaire already from Bitcoin? You might want to post a verification photo with your posts to get more up votes people like to see that your account is legit!

Unfortunately, dropping out of university is not initially good for your career, and I couldn't afford to buy many back then.

Nice to meet you andrew :)
I friend from your facebook.

regards,
Rendra Permana

Awesome stuff man :) You not to late so don't stress and welcome!

Hi Andrew! It's Noah, from early days at Waves coffee shop. Hit me up! At

thedamus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48