A More In-Depth Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

So...why have you decided to do this?

Mainly, out of boredom. And the need for some literary therapy. At this time I find myself in not the most optimal of situations so having something to do (something which I love to do...writing) is a great release for me.

Not to mention that I've been writing for practically my whole life and also immersed in (and obsessed with) music since childhood.

Though I've written for and even published my own zines and websites before, they were basically JUST about music. This time around I'm also focusing on the magickal aspects of music. And other things...

Sorry, Self, but you seem to have spelled "magic" wrong. Why the "k" at the end?

Really? That's odd. I've always been a great speller. Actually, that is the Aleister Crowley way of spelling the word. Magic is what a Vegas magician does for an act. Magick is not an act...

So you're talking about Satanism and witches and demons and all sorts of things that go bump in the night?

It's not as simple (or evil ) as that. I'm talking about the Lefthand Path. I'm talking about consciousness and knowledge. About our purpose here on Earth and beyond. I'm talking about everything being connected and there being no coincidences.

But, mainly, I'm talking about finding the how and why of everything and forgetting all the bullshit that's been taught to us...for the purpose of keeping us content. And stupid.

So you're kind of a hippie these days?

Haha! No. Not a hippie. I just like to try to unlearn all the bullshit that we are taught throughout our lives. I feel that when we are born we have some gifts which society quickly attempts to steal from us via their disinformation and indoctrination practices.

For instance, what do you do when your toddler has an imaginary friend or refuses to enter a certain room? Most of us would try to get the child to "don't be silly" and thus, close their eyes. I choose to attempt to open their eyes even more! What's truly silly is assuming that everything is black and white when there are many gray areas.

I won't get into too much detail but I'll say this: you should always question authority. You should always do your own research and draw your own conclusions. You shouldn't take anything at face value and anyone who calls him or herself an expert on any topic needs to be assumed a charlatan.

Then you're not an expert, either...

Oh, Hell no! Who is? I'm just expressing and believing in what has worked for me and I'm not saying it'll work for you. All of us have to reach our potential (I feel) on our own. Each one of our experiences is unique and what works for me may not work for you. It's all very personal. I like to say this:

I may be on a walk in the woods and find this hidden path which leads me to adventures beyond belief while you, taking the same path, may inadvertently walk off a cliff.

But what does all of this have to do with music?

As far as I'm concerned it has everything to do with music. At least for me. Music is therapeutic and can be truly magickal. It can take you places...

Getting back to the hippie thing from earlier, I have to mention meditation. It's a great tool for self-discovery but I hate the word (meditation) simply for its hippie association. So I prefer to call it tuning in.

Additionally, it's not really a requirement that your tuning in music be all flutes and whale noises and flowing rivers. Not at all. I've used Slayer for this purpose a few times! But I find instrumentals to be most effective for the simple fact that there's no story being told to distract you from your travels.

These days, my go-to band for this purpose is TID (whose video, "Aurora Surrealis", is featured in these pages). Hardly a hippie band and not a flute nor whale in sight! A pounding rhythm, dancey beat, loud guitars, and vocals sung in Swedish...so they feel more like just another instrument.

The bottom line is this - if you're going to mediate (ugh! That word!) use whatever music makes you happy and can relax your brain enough to take your mind places. Whether that be Slayer or (gasp!) Kenny G.

Ok. Are we to assume, then, that this site will be dedicated to bands that you find magickal?

Yes. And no. What I mean is that there are bands whose music is very special to me because it literally brings me to a good place but I'll also feature bands that I dig for one reason or other.

However, this site won't just be about bands. There will be authors, artists, entrepreneurs...and who knows what else?

Earlier you said that it's all connected. What is?

Well, I was meaning everything. And it's all connected to everything else. Most notably, I believe that aliens, angels, demons, gods, and ghosts are all different views of the same thing. Energy. It's all about perception and expectation. And it's all in your head. But that's the point.

Ok. What about drugs? Are you for or against?

I don't think that anything that's a gift from nature should be outlawed. Especially when there are pharmaceuticals and alcohol, which are far more dangerous yet get a free pass. Not to mention all of the proven positive benefits of marijuana and psychedelics medically as well.

Alright, alright. Anything you'd like to leave as parting words?

Get to know yourself truly. Dig deep. Be honest with yourself. Surround yourself with positive people. Rid yourself of all negativity and it's triggers. Read a lot. Open your mind (and your third eye). Be a good person. Nothing is impossible if you put your mind to it. It's all in your head...and it's magickal.

Sort:  

Great reintroduction! And always glad to see more occult related content, especially of the Left Hand Path persuasion. Somehow I wasn't already following you, but I am now. Upvoted this post too. Cheers!

Thanks. Yeah, I’m definitely LHP leaning but find that I don’t like too many tags or to limit myself to any preconceived notions. 😈

I totally agree, and even though I use the term Left Hand Path, I really don't like the label for a variety of reasons. One reason being that it creates a set of expectations on you, but also just because I feel that the words "left hand path" don't accurately describe that form of practice. Either way, glad we connected on here. :)

Likewise.

Hello welcome to steemit and enjoy! Feel free to follow me and ask me anything you want!

Thank you. Just followed. 😈

Hey. Welcome to Steemit! Brilliant introduction! Very witty! Slayer!!!! ../../

If your into writing I suggest checking out freewrite on here is a bit of fun check out @mariannewest who is the organiser!

I have been writing a few articles to help out newbies. Feel free to come and check them out:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@conradt/should-you-be-using-an-upvote-bot-an-introduction-guide-for-minnows

https://steemit.com/steemit/@conradt/the-complete-newbies-guide-to-curation-rewards

https://steemit.com/steemit/@conradt/things-i-wish-i-knew-when-i-joined-steemit

Thanks! I will defiantly be checking them out and, hopefully, contributing as well.

For the record it’s , “FUCKING SLAYERRRR!!!” 😈😁

Hahaha its late at night here so I didnt get it quite right!!

It’s the thought that counts.

Hello let's follow each other.. I'm a newbie also! Xoxo!

Done! Thanks.

This guy gets it.

Well put.

Thanks! But I can only speak for myself. My words are experiences, not an instruction manual. 😈

Welcome to steemit @sindo. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Will do. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54