Asking questions and digesting brain food - hello Steemit

Hi Steemit - I am Simon and I think the world and it's people are gorgeous. Well, mostly, anyway. But maybe that's because I don't read newspapers or watch TV. Or because I live in a wealthy and sheltered country in the heart of Europe.
I am a busy accountant, a passionate hockey player, an avid traveler and - or so I'd like to think - a bit of a philosopher. I have questions. A lot of questions. On a variety of topics. Some have probably been answered long ago and I just haven't found out yet. Others may not be answerable at all. But - if I'm lucky - there might be a tiny fraction of my questions to which one day I can contribute to finding an answer.
Currently, most of my questions are in the realm of political philosphy (how should people interact? why do people believe in political authority? what constitutes legitimate ownership in land? etc.) and economy (again about interaction; can money be sound and efficient? is fractional reserve banking really a problem? etc.).
To borrow from Seneca - reading is like eating. Having food in its original quality in the stomach, or text in the memory, is primarily a burden. Only when it is digested, it changes from its orignal form and gets absorbed by the body and strengthens it. In order for text to strenghten the mind and reasoning power, one mustn't merely read it, one must digest and absorb it. This is best done by thinking and reasoning. And writing is the effort to give clarity to thinking.
Writing further helps to put the thought out there to be challenged. I believe, this is one of the greatest opportunities to learn and grow.
And that's the reason I am going to post on Steemit. To put my thoughts out there. To be challenged by others for me to learn. And perhaps to challenge others for them to learn, too.
Cheers

Sort:  

What's the best way to carve wood? -Whittle by whittle.

The strength of a nation derives from the integrity of the home.

Glad to have you around!

Ciao! Ciao!

Greetings!

Exciting to have ya!

Excellent post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65