A wild hacker-journalist and (former) engineer appears!

You are unable to flee.

Now that you're stuck here, allow me to introduce myself. I'm Jan, a technology journalist from South Africa.

Before I started getting paid for writing about tech, I qualified as an engineer and worked in the technology industry for three years. Mainly I wrote software, but I did other stuff as well.

Here is the verification pic. That's yesterday's newspaper with today's date written on it, because who gets the paper every day anymore?

SIGSTARTsaysHiSteemit.jpg

Should I use a photo of myself for my avatar? I was in two minds about my profile pic. In the end I opted for a picture of Aang as he appears in Legend of Korra.

That makes my avatar the Avatar in his avatar state.

I thought it was funny.

Plus Aang has a sweet beard that kinda looks like mine.

Aside from being a full-time journalist, I am an avid video and board gamer, and an enthusiast of all manner of geeky pursuits, from 3D printing to (surprise, surprise) cryptocurrencies.

To write this post I had to tear myself away from Diablo 3. The Rise of the Necromancer pack has just been released and the new Necromancer class has been quite a bit of fun to play.

For awhile, I co-hosted a video podcast called Let's Talk Geek, episodes of which you'll still find on YouTube and Archive.org.

I used to write stories — mainly fantasy and science-fiction. I've never really published anything, and recently I've been inspired to start writing again. Maybe Steemit would be good platform to publish a few chapters or short stories to see what people think.

Recently, I also started practising Nakamura-ryū, a style of practical Japanese swordsmanship developed by Nakamura Taizaburo Sensei.

There's your brief introduction, Steemit. As they say in Starship Troopers: Would you like to know more?

Sort:  

Hello @sigstart

Welcome to Steemit.

I will definately love to see the Aang Avatar.

Since you are a journalist you no doubt have interesting stories to share with the community.

I started a series in my blog called Humans Of Steemit where Steemians share their journey to growth on Steemit, i believe it will be of great value to you since you are new to Steemit.

@ogochukwu

Awesome, thanks for the welcome. I'll definitely check out your series.

liked and followed :)

Hi Sigstart I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Welcome to Steemit, @sigstart!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome to Steem @sigstart I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Wow, what an outstanding #introduceyourself post! Adding you to a list of South African Steemians. Welcome. May you enjoy it here on Steemit - looking forward to your posts.

liked and followed :)

Welcome to Steemit @sigstart! I hope you like it here!

I'm looking forward to check your content since it seems that we have similar interests! I'm a multimedia producer so I have a soft spot for geekness in general.

Keep it up and I'll see you around!

Thanks! I am looking forward to reading more from you as well. Your overview post on holographic projectors was very interesting. I chaired a panel discussion once where one of the participants was projected as a hologram, but I've never played with the tech myself.

Thank you very much! I myself never used this tech for telepresence, maybe I'll do something like that one day. Either way, glad you liked it!

Hello @sigstart!! Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Thanks for the well-wishes :-)

Welcome to Steemit @sigstart!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33