Namaste Steemit - my introsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Namaste Steemit!

Sieger Joostens is the name that has been given to the body which holds me. I’m a traveler and photographer. I’ll introduce myself with some words and share self portraits in between.

22181351_10211873342603577_7759207455312896155_o.jpg
Arches - 2017

Written in Resource Magazine:

Today’s photographer of the day is Sieger Joostens, a 22-year-old Belgian photographer. He studied photography at the School of Arts in Ghent (KASK), and went on to study philosophy in Leuven. However, he never completed these studies. After several years, he’s taken up the investigation of ‘the invisible’ in philosophy and spiritualism.
For Joostens, it all began 10 years ago when he perceived the camera as a tool to observe. And that’s how he grew up: “Wandering around, not only to simply see the world but also in a search for who he was and what we’re doing here on earth. Whilst searching for his deepest nature, he ended up in nature itself. Using photography to translate the impressions he gets.”
And yet, Joostens never covers just one specific genre of photography. Whether portrait, landscape, street, macro, night or abstract, he seems to enjoy it all, while he loves to experiment with light and colors at night or wander around nature. In fact, you could call him “experimental”—he seeks to combine a variety of techniques to create an interesting image. “History is just a series of stories in your head, the future is still imagination so the only real thing is present itself. The moment is what fascinates me, makes me wonder, gives me images, thoughts and happiness. This is how I share it.” says Joostens.

See the article including photos

siegerjoostensgomeraevents.jpg
La Gomera, Canary Islands. Looking over El Teide, Tenerife - 2015

Now

In meantime, I became 25 years old and after working and saving money I have been traveling low-budget through Europe, Canary Islands, Cape Verde, Caribbean islands, Central America and currently I’m on a road-trip though the United States.

Proudly I can say that my work has been exposed several times (and it’s being exposed at the moment in Madrid). My photos have been recognized several times by winning contests and being published, for example by Nikon Belgium, 1x.com and digifotopro. Recently I won a contest by the Government of Spain and its national park of La Gomera, Garajonay. Some years ago I worked for the Belgian Government of Education as a photographer, but I'm fully independent now.

Being a photographer, or visual artist, has been a bumpy ride too. I often reject what I do, my interest swings back and forth and so does my motivation. Art is completely interwoven with the development of myself and always changes wherever I go or whatever I do. It’s only when I was studying philosophy that I realized how my own thinking creates the way I photograph. Trying to create an income as a photographer is not easy either. I'm stubborn, although I had opportunities to take over the photography business of an older friend, I don't want too. Commercial photography as in weddings, fashion shoots, product photography, etc... are not what I want to do in my life. And if I don't fully enjoy doing it, I won't simply do it for the money either! My goal is to earn money with what I love doing.

Find a job that makes you happy and you will never work one day in your entire life
— Mark Twain

a_self_with_models_by_reachingflames-d63h0g5.jpg
During a fashion shoot the models wanted me in the frame - 2011

Philosophy

As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was re-directed to something better! Breathe and be patient.

Everything you approach in life with positivity, will eventually come to you. You are the gardener, creating the garden. Your mind has very, very fertile soil with infinite possibilities. Choose carefully which seeds you plant, wisely water the plants your garden grows, and pull the weeds which are obstructing you to become who you can fully be. And again, be patient with yourself... Nothing blooms all year!

bodhi.jpg
An experiment with photoshop - 2013

If you want to know how I made this, I could make a step-to-step guide with photoshop. Simply comment to let me know!

Goal

What I wish to accomplish on steemit to is create a blog where people can ask questions about photography and I will share my knowledge and tips with love. Also there will be tutorials on how I made specific images and what techniques I use. I'll create series from time to time, from old to new, presenting my work on steemit and explaining how I achieved them. Every time again I want to try new things, be flexible, bend like bamboo, experiment.

I recently made my own portfolio, please feel free to visit it and give me feedback;
http://siegerjoostens.com

tripple.jpg

4tiles.jpg
An experiment with a strobe - double and tripple flash in one shot - 2010

On cryptocurrency

I got into crypto somewhere August 2017 and after doubling my investment in one month time I went deeply into the cryptoworld which led me to steemit. At this point I’m a hodler of Bitcoin, NEO, Ethereum, SmartCash, Request Network, Venchain and Kucoin. Smartcash, Kucoin and NEO are all paying out dividends so I’ll probably stick to them for a while, having a nice passive income. In between I do some daytrading also, based on news and hype. (if you plan on signing up to kucoin, feel free to use my link)

complete_controle_by_reachingflames-d2yi432.jpg
Complete controle - 2010

Thanks for your attention, hopefully I got you interested in my future posts. As I mentioned earlier, you can see my photography on my new website https://siegerjoostens.com.

Find me on Facebook & Instagram
or even 1x.com - DeviantArt - Behance

And I can already tell that I will share some drone photography from the Californian coast soon!
If you like this post, you know what to do! :)

Peace

All my work is under copyright, thank you!
Sort:  

Hello, and welcome to Steemit.

Thanks for the detailed introduction. You clearly have a fair bit of experience that you can bring to this platform. Your photography is intriguing, and your philosophy is also very interesting.

Below are a few points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks a lot for reading and commenting! And I really appreciate the advice given and will definitely use it.
Peace

Congratulations! Your introduction post has been selected for my special manual curation today!

It has received an upvote, and a resteem to help give you a boost. I'm following you now, too!

My curation focus is on fairly new Steemit users who don't speak English as a first or primary language, but who are writing and posting in English.

I search new posts in the #introducemyself and #introduceyourself tags daily, and try to dedicate at least 50% of my article curation to new Steemit members who meet the above focus criteria. My goal is to discover and curate an average of 5 new Steemit users per day.

I follow each person I curate because it is very encouraging for a new member to see their following grow.

25% of my daily curation is dedicated to upvoting, resteeming and commenting on new articles posted by the Steemit users I am following. If you have written an article that you think is particularly good, you can direct message me a link to it in Steemit.chat (look at the bottom of the Steemit menu for the chat link.)

I also curate comments from all Steemit users. I look to reward comments and replies which stand out as having thoughtful insight, offer benefit to the community at large and reflect the unique personality of the commenter.

I aim to keep my voting strength between 90-100%, and give a 100% upvote whenever possible, voting 10-15 times per day.

I’m calling the @originalworks bot to verify this article for you. Every time you write an original article you should call the bot. It is a great bot service that boosts your article for free.

@originalworks also hosts a weekly writing contest, so follow @originalworks if you are interested in practicing your writing skill, and possibly earning some extra Steem.

Fascinating photographs, @siegerjoostens! And you also have a very unique philosophy and approach to your work. I'm looking forward to seeing more from you! There are a lot of different photography contests on Steemit, and I encourage you to search them out, and participate. I believe that you will be well received. Cheers!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @siegerjoostens to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks a lot! This is very motivating. I didn't know about any contests and will definitely look into that. Peace!

Oh yeah, there are different daily themed photography contests hosted by all kinds of different users. You can even host one yourself, but I suggest you hold off on doing that until you get some interaction with people by entering some first, @siegerjoostens. Just search the contests tag to find them. Cheers!

Thank you, man!

You are welcome, @siegerjoostens! Cheers!

Hi Sieger... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. This is a nice and different type of intro post... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority
It will be great if you visit and read my blog and upvote them..!!!!!

Thank you very much, nice to hear this is something different.
Peace

Welcome to steemit. There are lot of photographers and artists here. I am sure you will enjoy among them :)

Thanks a lot, I will explore this space with pleasure!

Super interesting and can't wait to learn more about photography from a master like you!
And discuss about cryptocurrencies my current addiction, oooops 😄

Haha yes crypto is very addicting, I agree with that!
I'm open for every question about photography btw.

Welcome to steemit! Even though I am also still new. I am interested in your account to see if you write something about philosophy and photography. The workings behind how you take the photo and why, what goes through your mind etc. I will follow you and see what you write! Good luck :)

Thank you! Yes and I also follow you for reading some more of your interesting thoughts! Thanks a lot, Phil. Glad to connect

Upvoted! welcome my belgium friend, love the work you put in your introduction.
Love travelling and did so for 4 years blogging about it now, for now back in Amsterdam but decided to go somehwere new soon again. Will keep an eye out for your post!

Hey there! Thanks! Whats the next destination?

dont really know yet, will give myself a few more months to find out

Waving at you

Haha waving right back at you.

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote to your post and remember to follow me as a friend to help you grow in this social network!

Hey man !! Going by your intro ,it seems you are into cryptocurrency . I am planning to invest in quantstamp and wabi ico . Let me know what you think about it.

If you get into the first rounds of the quantstamp ICO you will defintely make a decent profit. I think the first is even 100% bonus, which is alot. The project looks promising and I will maybe join also.

I don't have not enough knowledge about Wabi to make an opinion.

I have never participated in an ico before thats why little reluctant too.
Thanks for the advise .

Be sure to decide if you want to flip your money immediately or to hold it for a longer time. If you want to flip, be very fast with it. The moment you can trade the coin you should grab your profits.

I got quantstamp and in at the 2nd tier with 40% bonus. Let's see what happens! Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52