50 days on Steemit! HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi! I'm Siddharth - call me Sid!

I'm a media entrepreneur based in Melbourne. I run a print publication in the times of social media. Along with events and heaps of other digital marketing platforms, we are fighting and surviving odds. This month, I turn 13 years in publishing. In these thirteen years, I've seen the ups and downs of this sector. Profits were sky high before Facebook became popular. Quite literally our business has been impacted with the dominance of social media in our lives.

A decade ago, our readers got all their "news you can use" from our magazine. Distributed freely through 500 outlets across Australia, our audience picked up copies of The Indian Sun from South Asian outlets. There were years when our company's profits were super impressive for a micro-business. Although those years would never come back again, dealing with the challenges of the new world order in media has been extremely exciting. And it's more exciting and challenging than an impressive bank balance.

I started my career as a journalist in New Delhi. From writing on human rights issues in India to working in the NY edition of The Indian Express, I've spent five years in media in India. I Moved to Australia in 2003, set up my first publication in 2005, sold my shares for a premium in 2013 and set up the current publication called The Indian Sun in 2013. I've also done other titles like AU Zone and Juice. Juice was a youth magazine based out of Suva in Fiji. The magazine got wound up after the previous coup as expats had to shut their publications in Fiji and leave.

Later, I spent 3 years working on AU Zone, a publication for suburban Melbourne. It's around this time that Facebook emerged as a dominant player and wiped away our small business clientele. As a team, we were forced to venture into events to sustain our business. I've been doing events for SMEs for over five years now.

With the birth of blockchain and Steemit, I think media will go through yet another exciting decade. I'm confident that facebook will have to change its ways, google will evolve and steemit will eat into their market share of dedicated users. As steemians we should encourage journalists and media professionals to join Steemit and publish anything from breaking news to analysis and opinion. We have a long way to go as a community, but most steemians are passionate about this platform and you can sense that steemit has a better community feel than any other platform in existence today.

Thank you for a great 50 days here. I feel completely connected with you all!

Have a great weekend and let's hope the Crypto market bounces back this weekend.

Peace!

I've used the introduceyourself option twice before. I strongly believe that we should have a segment for anniversaries and milestones so that I do not even vaguely misuse this segment

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% upvote from @boostbot courtesy of @sidsun!

Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @boostbot by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Hey Sid :-) Welcome to Steemit ! Peace :-)

Thanks Bud! Hope you are doing well too. Stay in touch.

WoW 50 day's ! I hope you enjoyed those 50 days...

Yes @alaminhossain. Every bit. I hope you are having a blast. 50 days is a great feat. I think we should have a separate tag for anniversaries so we don't get flagged for celebrating ;)


Hello @sidsun!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 5 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Three times. Not sure where the five ones are coming from. I didn't know that a rule existed :). But yes, will be mindful of this. Thanks for pointing it out. But I request you to correct this as you are breaching this by making factually wrong allegations. Thank you in advance. I agree that what your doing is a service to the community as it needs to be discouraged. But please check how you get this information :)!

Here are your five entries: Copied from the other post you made which I responded to as well.

  • sidsun 31 Days on Steemit! 2018-02-25 04:54:51.000 {"tags":["introduceyourself","steemit","new","media","teamaustralia"],"user

  • sidsun 50 days on Steemit! HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!! 2018-03-16 06:34:39.000 {"tags":["media","steemit","crypto","blockchain","introduceyourself"],"imag

  • sidsun HELLO! I'M SID. WON'T U STEEM WITH ME? 2018-01-30 08:43:51.000 {"tags":["introduceyourself","steemit","crypto","blockchain","media"],"imag

  • sidsun I can't wait to Steemit non-stop 2018-02-14 10:55:48.000 {"tags":["introduceyourself","steemit","new","photography"],"image":["https

  • sidsun The Indian Sun is on steemit 2018-02-03 22:00:54.000 {"tags":["steemit","magazine","introduceyourself","steem","new"],"users":["

Two of your posts did not use the tag as the primary tag, that is why you are counting 3.

You can use the introduce tag (not introduceyourself) if your feel that is relevant. Otherwise you are free of course to use or create any relevant tag you like and others may follow like anniversary or celebration.

The introduceyourself tags is reserved to be used once only or possibly twice in 2nd language.

Blessings!

@bycoleman: You haven't read the contents of the posts I have made. One of the posts is about a separate account. I run a magazine and I was introducing the magazine. Both are my accounts. One is a business account and one is my personal account. I don't think you should try and flag posts without reading the contents of the posts. It's a genuine request, in the interest of the community, that you should not work like a bot. Please see things in perspective. I don't mind the work you do, but there should be more effort going into it. Peace!

Thanks for the feedback.

You might consider creating a new account for your business if you feel it should be treated separately, as of now you have posted 5 times using the author 'sidsun'.

I hope you agree that if everyone used the tag for every new milestone, or subtopic or product they want to introduce, then the tag would would quickly loose its usefulness to welcome first time introductions.

I completely agree with you that the tag shouldn't be misused. And I do have another account for my business which was created later. The account set up process takes time and when it was set up, I announced that the mag has a steemit account using my ID.

In my current post, I have clearly mentioned how I do not intend to misuse it. I think you should read the post before you flag it if possible. I'm quite aware that it shouldn't be misused. The first few days everyone takes time to find their feet here.

There are many account holders who have introduced themselves multiple times. I was following a precedent. If people are making a genuine effort to connect with other members, they should be left alone without being policed. But again you are policing people using your time and your bot service. So I appreciate it and wish you well.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

I wish you much success.

Hi Sid, thanks for the post. It's encouraging to see serious journalists and writers like yourself on here. I agree that it's important for us to invite folks who are doing serious work and in that way drive the quality of the content on Steemit up. I've found a lot of a great writing and content on here so far, but sometimes you've got to wade through tons of junk to find it. I'm following you now and look forward to your future posts.

Thanks Natelost. I'm following you back now ...and I'm sure I'll get to read some interesting stuff there. Looking forward to it :)

Wow thats an incredible amount of followers for such a short amount of time and you've just added another:) Congrats!

steemit is the best ever forever .

@benjamin852 everybit bud! It's been an awesome ride. Although quite frustrating with the traction, it's good to be here and it's a great community. You'll love it.

Anyone wearing an Airbourne shirt is aces in my book. So happy to be a part of this platform!

hahah that's a goo connect bud :) happy we met! HAPPY STEEMING

You're Welcome friend

Bienvenido a Steemit amigo

Welcome to steemit! Such an amazing platform to connect and communicate on.!

Welcome to steemit, keep going!!

Thanks a lot Katrina! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66