hello steemit!

While I have been blogging for over 11 years now on wordpress I'm always looking for ways to utilize new and upcoming platforms. I have dabbled in crypto for a number of years and previously had allowed customers to pay me in bitcoin.

As a maker and dyer of textiles and a lover of Japan and nature (among other things I will share here), I am completely self supported by selling my own handmade works and have done so for more than 40 years! I travel to Japan every other year (and sometimes in between) so hope you will join in every now and then.

I look forward to visiting and upvoting your posts here too, as I learn to navigate steemit!

I'm a moonmaker...
IMG_4064.jpg

-a pathfinder
IMG_2996.jpg

-a maker of things by hand. one at a time and every day
IMG_0440.JPG

IMG_0723.JPG

-Color's mistress and Art's apprentice
IMG_7174.JPG

traveling to Japan for study and inspiration...(plus the food!)
IMG_0222.JPG

IMG_1718.jpg!

discovering Japan one craftsperson at a time!
IMG_8406.jpg
IMG_7822.JPG

Hope to see you around!

Sort:  

Seeing you username, i thought you might be from Japan, but not! So where are you from?

I actually did grow up in Japan. 6 years there ‘65-‘72. Been a while. But consider it home even though I have lived in California now since ‘76. I practice shibori daily and it is the name of my business. Where are you from?

Hi, welcome to the Steemit community!

Thanks-I have a lot to learn!

Welcome to steemit shiborigirl I wish you success and a fun time here.

Greetings and welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for a look into your interests and life! You don't have to... but if you can, post on another of your social media platforms and state that you have joined steemit. That will really verify you! And consider doing a "Proof Photo" where you take a photo of yourself holding a paper with your Steemit name and today's date.

I have a few tips for you......you are a veteran though on the internet...so these may be unnecessary, but I'll include them anyway!:

  • find a community. Maybe join the @minnowsupport project.

  • don't plan to get rich. If you come for money, it will probably be a struggle.

  • it will still be a struggle when you are new.... for 2 or 3 months. You need to go meet people when you find their post that you like, and comment what it meant to you. Maybe spend most of your time in your native language, unless you are very confident in your English(which seems to be very good).

  • only Post original work. Many new Steemians get into trouble when they copy and paste things from Google or from the internet, AND IT IS NOT their photo, writing or work. IF you can't post your own things, better not post. Since you may cross post, please include a notation on your posts here if you ever use the same material that has already been used elsewhere. Otherwise @cheetah will get suspicious!

  • comment and make friends, but don't ask "Follow me" or "please Upvote me" Maybe after you have become friends... maybe. But never as your first, second or third comment to them. Never!

  • have fun!

I am a community volunteer. I try to stop SPAM and trash and things that hurt Steemit. IF you see anything like that, please feel free to let me know, I will look into it!

@public-eye thanks for the advice! I have a lot to learn here. All of what you said I already practice on my other SM sites and looking to learn more...

Congratulations @shiborigirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome and nice to meet you
I like handmade works , and like that pictures you shared , hope to know more about you and your artworks ,

source (2).gif

its so nice to meet you, thanks for introduction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44