A Little Bit About Me

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Heyyy!
After my first post here on Steemit I thought I should introduce myself. I'm ShelbyLynn. :-) I grew up in rural Illinois and I'm still here. I've traveled to other parts of the world but for now this is where my <3 is.
me.jpg

The Short version
I'm a graduate student completing a degree in counseling with an expected graduation date of May 2018. I also work full-time in information security in the financial sector. I have two bachelor’s Degrees. They’re in child psychology and community health.

I enjoy spending time educating individuals and families on ways to improve their health while providing cost-effective, toxin free alternatives. I LOVE teaching people about safer household cleaners and products! It’s crazy how terrible some of the products we use everyday are for our health.

I have previously received two bachelor’s Degrees and spent many of my early years of my career working in social services. Although I loved what that time has taught me I also know that’s not where I want to spend the rest of my life.

In my free time I like to write/blog, read, spend time with family and friends and enjoy some downtime with my significant other. And to top it all off my family drag races, so I'm the crew chief to a 23 T-altered. Which is pretty badass if I do say so myself!

I typically blog about life, love, and relationships. Or more specifically the screwed up dating scene that's currently running rampant among the “millennial” generation. The era of online dating, SnatchChat, and Twitter is not for me, but it seems to be the norm right now. Occasionally, I’ll write about current events, but usually it’s because I’m unhappy with how crazy things are becoming in the world around me.

Let’s see what else would you all maybe like to know about me? Hmm…

I listen to a little bit of everything when it comes to music but Rock and Country are my favorites. I grew up on 70s and 80s rock which definitely helped shape my taste is music as I got older. My favorite band is Shinedown followed by Breaking Benjamin, In this Moment, and Theory of a Deadman. Brantley Gilbert is probably my favorite country artist followed by Dustin Lynch, Eric Church, and Miranda Lambert.

I love Jodi Picoult books.

I have 2 of my own crazy dogs and my significant other’s which makes three. I have a husky and a beagle and my SO has a rat terrier. I have also fostered rescue dogs previously and loved every minute of it, but for right now that’s on hold until our crazy schedules get less crazy.

I feel like I have covered the basics, right? If not, I guess we’ll cover it at a later time.

I am excited to start my journey with @Steemit, so Steemit Community, here I am. :-) Thank you for the warm welcome so far!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

I really recommend putting an avatar picture up! For realz girl.

Working on it.

STEEM is great, the people here are fantastic, welcome to crypto!
Did you just refer to you're significant other as a third dog in you're life?
;D

hahahaha I did not! or at least not intentionally.. :-) he really is wonderful, most days, the dog though.. it's awful!

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shelbylynn to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @shelbylynn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @shelbylynn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit,
It's good to have you here

thank you. I'm happy to be here.

welcome to Steemit! I also just started & poster my introduction post :) maybe we can support each other?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00