You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello steemers, I am a mother, daughter, investor,cook, friend, and I have found the most interesting hacks

Since you are an expert at this...where would you suggest the newbie person start? Algorithms and hashing etc. I learned about them in school, but I really need something simple to digest.
I tried reading bits and pieces of the white paper...that contains some very good information, but I get the impression that steem is still in beta state and there is some tweaking still going on.
I would like to suggest a tag just for beginners or those interested in the basics of blockchain
and how steem fits into the who crypto currency family.
The faq was a good start, but it does not give the explanation why.
Also the whole encryption key/password security issue is not for beginners.

If you need a newbie to test ideas on....let me know. I am always interested in learning more. I am not exactly a geek, but I am not the average general population chick either.... I guess you could say that I am a hybrid of geek ( because I have a masters in CS...(from way back in 1994)) but I am just a regular CAROLINA Girl trying to keep pace with technology too.

Thanks for the updates!

Sort:  

Best wishes for your father. Seriously very high dosages of concentrated curcumin entirely shrunk tumors of some pancreatic cancers according to a clinical study I read online. It is a long shot, but it can also help sooth the inflammation as well. It is one of the most powerful natural treatments you can reach for and I think it has been tested along with chemo and been beneficial. But I maybe not yet tested for his specific cancer type. If the prognosis (% survival 5 years out, etc) for his cancer at stage 4 is not good, then my stance would be might as well try everything I can. I have been in a desperate but only chronic (i.e. not terminal) health quagmire also related to my gut (not sure if it is a tumor or not), but not so definitively critical as your fathers’.

I see your rewards for this blog just jumped to $600+ because that whale I mentioned has upvoted your post. So you will see that current vote weighting algorithm for Steem is votes x votes, i.e. squared. So if a whale (with 1000 times more SP weight than the minnows) upvotes a post that had 5 times less culmulative SP vote weight, then the post’s rewards (and to some degree site ranking) are boosted approximately 5 x 5 = 25 times. Also the system is still being actively developed and so these algorithms might possibly change. I am not one of the developers of this system. They are for example @dan (@dantheman), @ned, and @theoretical.

Well if you can handle us males fighting and insulting each other (apologies for that), some of the discussions in the Altcoin Discussion forum of Bitcointalk.org provide expert discussion.

I also heard the white paper needs to be updated. But I think the fundamentals will not change significantly. But reading the white paper does not insure we understand it entirely. I read it quickly in June, read it again in July, and still made some mistakes in my understanding of all the implications of the design.

I am going to ask some others if they could reply to suggest to you some learning resources.

I will definitely remember you and your offer to help on testing. I agree on needing more beginner’s information and well organized for them.

Edit: the learning resources I am aware are really not very concise and well organized:

https://medium.com/zapchain-magazine/the-best-places-on-the-internet-to-learn-about-bitcoin-a4733f9f3ac7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54