Why It’s Important To Practice Now Being Who You Want To Be Later

Hi every steemiter,
Sharone Kelly here,

I am not usually doing this, but today's post is about an article which was written by one of my mentors T. Harv Eker's
All concepts in this post are from him., this may help...

Listen what he said:
One of the best questions I’ve ever been asked, but rarely ever get asked is, “What is it really like to be rich?” You’d think I get asked that often but I don’t, so when I heard it, it seemed rather odd.

After thinking about it a little, my answer was and still is: being rich is the same as anything, or it can be way better if you want it to be.

What do I mean? You have a lot more money, and that gives you, usually, a lot more freedom if you allow that. It gives you a lot more time if you allow that. It gives you a lot less worry about money if you allow that.

It gives you the opportunity to help other people if you want to do that. It gives you the opportunity to do whatever you want during the day if you allow yourself to do that. It gives you all kinds of opportunities. It’s all great, yes?

Notice, what do I say with every one of these? If you allow that.

Plenty of millionaires still work, like it’s their job, because maybe they didn’t set their business up to be sellable and release them from key responsibilities. Or maybe they went nuts with their spending and now have to make more money to maintain their lifestyle.

So it’s like you have business success, but do you have freedom? You have lots of money, but do you spend your money wisely? You drive better cars, but do you still complain about traffic?

As I laugh about it with my friends now, we still have problems but we have what we call “rich problems,” or as my life partner Michelle puts it, “champagne problems.”

I mean that sounds pretty ridiculous, but it doesn’t matter. To the mind a problem is a problem. It doesn’t matter if you’re rich or you’re broke, middle-class or whatever. If you’ve got a problem, your mind makes it the end of the world, doesn’t it?

So my broke person problem was I didn’t know how I was going to pay the rent that month. Now, when I find out that one of the resorts that we’re planning on going to at Christmas time doesn’t have any ocean-front rooms left, my mind goes, “What the hell? I can’t believe it! Two days ago it did. What happened here?”

I know I sound like a jerk, but it’s not me that’s the jerk. It’s my mind that’s the jerk. You see, that mind is still the same. “I have to get what I want. I’m not happy if I don’t get what I want. I deserve it. I’m entitled. I should be this. I should be that.” Blah, blah, blah, blah.

All of these are just unhappy thoughts. So I notice it, and I think, “Wow man, okay, listen. There are hundreds of millions of people that can’t even eat tomorrow, and you’re worried about a frickin ocean-front room? Get a life, man.”

I take a breath and I get over it, but it doesn’t mean I don’t feel the problem right away.

A problem is a problem. My reaction to the problem is the same reaction. I just get over it a little more quickly, and I know in the back of my mind it’s not really a problem. I’m just making up a big deal out of nothing.

So what I’m saying is, rich is fantastic, but you have to allow rich to be fantastic just like you have to allow anything to be fantastic, so be now who you want to be later, especially if later is rich.

In other words practice being a person who doesn’t worry; a person who enjoys their freedom as it is now; a person who doesn’t let little things bother them.

We’re creatures of habit. You take yourself with you wherever you go. If you want to be a happy millionaire later, practice being happy now. Stop waiting to achieve a certain level of success to be peaceful, practice being peaceful now.

If you’re the kind of person that, even when broke, allows the best of a situation to emerge without it coming from a place of fear, or entitlement, or lack, then yeah, being rich will be awesome…if you let it be!

Share a thought or a story, we want to hear from you!

If you want the original article, you can get it here on Harv's website

Stay strong.

Sort:  

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it.

Why does a Moon-rock taste better than an Earth-rock? -Because it's a little meteor.

Ciao! Ciao!

Greetings!

Steem ahead!

Delighted to have you here with us!

Excellent post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56