Saving the Planet, One Book at a Time with Samantha Wheeler

Saving the Planet, One Book at a Time with Middle Grade Author Samantha Wheeler

About Samantha Wheeler

peter-300x300.jpg

Samantha Wheeler fell in love with animals after receiving a tortoise at the age of 6. She went on to study Agriculture, work with dairy farmers, and teach science, until writing her first children’s book, inspired by koalas, in 2011. Her books, which include Smooch & Rose, Spud & Charli, Mister Cassowary, and Wombat Warriors, have been shortlisted for the Queensland Literary Awards, the Readings Book Prize, The Wilderness Society Environmental Award and the Royal Zoological Society of NSW, Whitley Commendation. Samantha hopes her books will inspire everyone to make a difference.

What inspired you to start writing?

My background is in science, but I’ve always loved books and stories. On my 40th birthday, I wrote a bucket list which included visiting the gorillas in Uganda, the tortoises in the Galapagos, and writing a book. The bucket list got a fair go, since now I’ve seen the tortoises, and the gorillas, and have written six books. I’ve been inspired by many great authors over the years, particularly naturalist Gerald Durrell but have also learnt so much from amazing tutors and fellow writers, and of course, I’m always learning from the children I write for.

When did your writing journey begin?

I started my first manuscript during the ‘Year of the Novel’ course at QWC in 2009. I submitted it to several publishers, including face to face appraisals at the CYA Conference in Brisbane in 2011, but after several rejections, it went nowhere. So, I began another story, which went on to be published by UQP in 2013, and this time next year, I’ll have six books on book shop shelves.

What are you working on now?

I’m editing my most recent story, about a girl who can’t talk. She has Rett syndrome, which means she can’t walk, play or use her hands, but not being able to communicate hurts the most. How do you say I’m cold, I’m hungry or I love you when your words don’t work? It’s a difficult project, but I’m taking my time, and enjoying the process.

How did you feel about books as a child?

Our family moved around a lot when I was young, and I think books were my best friends. Reliable, engaging and always available, books came with me wherever we went. Pollyanna, The Famous Five, My Family and Other Animals, and Black Beauty were some of my favourites. Things haven’t changes. I always take about 4 books with me on any holiday, just in case.

What is the most important thing about what you do?

My books all have an environmental message, so I love thinking they will help readers learn more about our amazing planet. But I also think the actual process of writing is good for me: it settles my mind and gives me places to go when life is too busy to really go there.

9780702249860_Smooch-Rose_Cover_FINAL-195x300.jpg

What are the biggest challenges you face?

I’d say book sales and marketing. There are a lot of fabulous books out there, and it can be disheartening when you can’t find your book amongst the shelves. Putting yourself out there, and promoting your work is tough when it’s not your personality. But I always come back to why I’m doing this. Writing is for me, and sales are just the bonus.

What advice can you offer to aspiring authors?

Persistence. Getting published is half talent, half persistence. If you’re enthusiastic and love what you do: try and focus on great writing instead of counting rejections. Be persistent, write whenever you can, and the rest will happen.

Spud-and-Charli_9780702250187_Final-cover-195x300.jpg

What is your definition of success?

Good question! My goal posts are always shifting. Awards? A fat bank balance? Weeks of school bookings? 70,000 followers on Instagram? Success is hard to define in the creative industries: but I think I’m learning that the main way I feel successful when my books are making me happy.

How will you know when you have reached that level of success?

See above! Awards, fat bank balance …No, only joking. I’d love to make a little more money from writing: at the moment it’s not really paying the bills, but I also don’t want to sell my soul and write just with money in mind. So, perhaps the answer is to write good books that sell well both in Australia and overseas, so that I can justify the hours I spend in front of the computer.

Have you attended any Share Your Story events?

Yes, I’ve attended one of the fabulous sessions about websites and marketing: which prompted me to redo my website and take a look a video blogging: both of which have been very rewarding. So, thank you!

Samantha will be hosting a workshop for Share Your Story in 2018.

Tickets available through Eventbrite:
https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/middle-grade-masterclass-with-samantha-wheeler-tickets-40090701367

Samantha’s Books

Smooch & Rose
Spud & Charli
Mister Cassowary
Wombat Warriors
Turtle Trackers

Contact Samantha

Website: www.samanthawheeler.com.au
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/samanthawheelerauthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/samwheelz
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34688959-wombat-warriors?ac=1&from_search=true
Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/samantha-wheeler-39534374
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/samanthawheelerauthor

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! Ill be sure to upvote your posts and follow you! Check out my previous article on the service that I offer on fiverr which is basically where I manage a portfolio of cryptocurrency for you for 1 year. I personally transformed 500 dollars into over 2 million and I want to help others make the same returns with my 3 years of experience trading cryptocurrency. The link to the service is here if youre interested https://www.fiverr.com/bwalker099/manage-or-create-your-cryptocurrency-portfolio-for-huge-profits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69032.73
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53