Introducing Daryl Wright: Environmental, Tech, and Global Enthusiast.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! 

The Wife and Myself at Huayna Picchu, Peru October 2015

I am writing everyone today from Lloydminster, Alberta which is a bit off the beaten path but an incredible town to call home. I am currently taking a Masters Degree in Arts with a focus on Environmental Practice from Royal Roads University. I did my undergraduate in Business Administration and Economics at the University of Regina in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.

Royal Roads University, Victoria, British Colombia
University of Regina, Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

I spent the Winter of 2016 in Soledad, Colombia studying municipal and territorial water management policies.  I was particularly interested in decentralized water generation and potable water management practices through the use of renewable and sustainable technologies. I'll write a little more about this later in another blog entry. :) 

A little about myself, I am a soon to be father. My son Gabriel Alberto Wright is expected on September 22, 2016. I own a house in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan which is a border town in North/Central Saskatchewan and Alberta, Canada. It sits in-between Edmonton and Saskatoon. Lloydminster is primarily an petroleum city which has been hurting since the crash of 2014 but seen it's boom days just prior.

Our Wedding, Soledad, Colombia February 20, 2015

I work in the vegetation management industry which compromises mechanical and chemical control of noxious or problematic vegetation. Everything from trees under utility right of ways to invasive weeds on oil and gas leaseholds. I am currently in the role of Health, Safety and the Environment as well as taking care of human resources in a mid-size company based in Lloydminster. We hire 40 - 60 summer students each year and show them the ins and outs of veg. management, oilfield, and working on the road. I usually describe it as "the combination between tree planting and farming.

My blog will revolve around my interests and projects so feel free to subscribe and keep in touch. I'll be porting some things over from wordpress as some of the posts there need refreshing anyways. (I haven't blogged for some years now)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55111.68
ETH 2306.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31