Introducing a 29 year old who’s come to another crossroad in life…

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Me!

Hey all,

Name’s Sean Yalda, but you can call me @sensei. I’m a web professional who’s new to the crypto-world living in the United States of America. Among other things, I seek to learn more about this world. I like practicing various forms of design, health, business, engineering, spirituality, quantum physics, philosophy, writing, drawing, photography, music, astrology, and travel.

To be vague; I search for simplicity while navigating complexity. Search for meaning while avoiding absurdity. Fight but without hurting anybody. I feel like I’m at another crossroad in my life. Within the next few months, I’ll be heading in a new direction. Not sure where yet. Wish me luck and let’s get in touch!

More about me

  • I recently moved backed to Los Angeles, CA from Ferndale, MI.
    Which is just passed 8-mile; the border of Detroit. On December 27, 2016, I drove across the country in a 2002 Toyota Sequoia packed with my belongings and 2 cats named Bruce and Maddy. I was born in LA (Glendale to be exact), and moved across the country with my parents when I was a wee lad of 5. I decided to make the journey back here at the age of 29 as a way to begin exploring the west coast, expand my horizons, while creating and developing new relationships. California’s economy is huge (6th largest in the world), so I’m also here to get a piece of the action. ;)

Picture of my neighborhood in LA
My neighborhood in LA.

  • I walk roughly 5 miles a day.
    Which is apparently out of the ordinary (especially in LA). Even though I have a truck, I need to walk everyday because, simply put, it’s good for me: I walk everyday because it forces me to explore my mind, my surroundings, and my body at a pace that feels amazing. I sometimes photograph things that I see which I currently share on my Instagram profile.

Me being kind of epic looking in Iceland
A picture of me looking epic in Iceland.

  • My path hasn’t been linear, but has anyone’s been?
    Since I turned 18, I’ve been a HVAC apprentice, traveling salesman, phone dealer, janitor, busboy, busker, lecturer, graphic designer, activist, and more. The oldest of 2. I grew up in a small heating & cooling family business started by my father, a Chaldean-Iraqi migrant who arrived to the U.S. in 1979. Throughout my life, I’ve lived in California, Illinois, Iowa, and most of all, Michigan.

    As soon as I was old enough to climb a ladder, I started working with my dad during school breaks. Eventually, I worked full-time for him. We serviced and installed units all over Southeast Michigan. Even though I cherish the memories, I’ve never wanted to take the family business over. My heart wasn’t in it.

    Stuff I love that kinda‘ described me
    Some of my things organized neatly.

    I always had my sights on creative industries. I was obsessed with novels, comic books, video games, martial arts, and music. Pretty much anything that stimulated my imagination. I began designing and building websites soon after my family got their first computer in 2001 at the age of 14. It was a Compaq Presario with a whopping 8gb of storage! My parents or I didn’t really understand the value of what I was doing back then. When I turned 20, I abandoned all of my digital projects and went analog for over 4 years. Eventually, I came back to the world wide web to start my career.

Me working late on a cool website
Me working late at the office.

  • I am a web professional: I design and develop user experiences and interfaces.
    It’s a mouthful, but I might as well be specific. The title, web designer, doesn’t really cut it anymore. Sometimes I just tell folks that I make people money on the internet. Honestly, I’ve gotten to the point where I’m looking for a new way to apply everything I’ve learned so far. Maybe 3D stuff? Since I began working on the web 5 years ago, I’ve been with a few startups, a couple agencies, and taught a semester at university. I’m currently freelancing.

my cats in a shoebox while robrigo chills on my couch
My cats and robrigo hanging out at my old place.

  • I know some people here, on Steemit.
    I registered my username a while back when robrigo told me about it. He told me about how he had been spending all of his time learning and engaging with the platform. I listened and coudn’t resist joining after that. I feel lucky to have my username, sensei, here and hope I can live up to its implications. I’m also friends with: MATT-A, Timothy Archer, and WakeUpJohnny. Hopefully, I can invite more friends to join as well!

  • I speculate often
    A double-edged sword, I find my habit to question things a lot to be a blessing and a curse. For one, sometimes I get called a devil’s advocate. When I’m feeling defensive, I usually comeback with, “It’s actually called, active listening”. I understand where people are coming from, sometimes you just want to vent and are not in a mood to pick everything apart, go into detail, find solutions, etc. So I do my best to hold back sometimes. Regardless of how it effects my relationships, it’s something that’s I’ve always taken pride with. It’s part of what makes me feel like a good explorer (that’s the first time I’ve ever called myself that).

  • I write to self-medicate.
    Ultimately, I can suffer from chaotic levels of thoughts and emotions. This inner-chaos can lead to some kind of action-paralysis. I end up thinking too much and lose my ability to take positive action. I write because it helps me detach and get some perspective. I come back feeling freer and in control again. I started privately writing about 9 years ago. It’s time to go public.

I think that’s enough for now. Ultimately, there are so many things I’d love to do and talk about. Seriously. I look forward to becoming a part of the many conversations going on here at Steemit. If there’s anyway I can help or participate, let me know. I’ll do my best!

Catch ya‘ later!
— Sensei

Here’s a photo series of Bruce, and I.
bruceandi.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome.

Yes!!! Ya finally made it!!! Now, to crack open this tome and decipher the life of Sean. At first glance, it looks like you've absolutely nailed the introduction, hell, possibly even raised the bar . . .

I'm sure you'll love it here, and I'm sure the community will reciprocate that love 500-fold.

Welcome aboard!

Re-steemed.

Side Note: Jump into https://steemit.chat/ and always drop your new posts in the #postpromotion channel to garner a few extra sets of eyes.

Thanks brotha‘. Looking forward to it all! :D

You're welcome. I'm sure once you feel this place out and learn the ropes/how it all works, you'll find it hard to put it down.

Once you figure it all out, thinking about how this model can be applied to other forms of social media among other things, you start to realize how truly disruptive/revolutionary this platform and the underlying blockchain's potential really is. The old social media business model is in for some serious shaking up, if not out right murdering of it. They're either going to have to scrap the old model damn near entirely and adapt, or turn into AOL 2.0. Once people realize that they have a choice between being harvested like a crop by multi-billion dollar corporations that trade you and your private data practically behind your back like a commodity OR using social media as they see fit on a censorship-resistant platform that PAYS you to use it while at the same time giving you the freedom to build anything you want on top of it, I feel like the outcome is a no-brainer. It's just a matter of time in combination with a bit of legwork.

The future is going to be preeeetty interesting.

Welcome to Steemit Land!

Hi @sensei
Nice to know about you
Very impressive intro man
Followed you :)

Likewise and thanks man!

Sean!!! I'm so glad you've made it to digital mecca. I'm stoked to be working with you again and looking forward to seeing what we can build together!

Most definitely man. I’m stoked about it!

Welcome to Steemit Sean. Great intro.

resteem and upvote for you

Welcome to Steemit! I live not too far from Ferndale in Farmington Hills and I too am becoming a cat lover! It looks like you're having fun... Enjoy your journey!

:) Thank you! And yeah, we're practically neighbors. Good to meet you!

Welcome, nice username choice ^^

Nice Intro bro. I'm in L.A. right now as well. I think you hold the record for most walking by anyone in L.A. haha.

Thanks bro, that’s what I hear. But L.A. is a crazy place, someone’s probably got me beat haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55