FIRE me ASAPsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I want to get FIRE'd, badly. I don't mean pink-slip, see the door, don't come back round here no more, kind of fired, but FIRE'd (Financially Independent Retired Early). See, I graduated law school with a ton of student loans, like a lot of people in our generation, and into a tough economy with little job prospects. Thankfully I landed a pretty good job at a good firm and was able to leverage that first job into a couple of career-launching moves to get where I am today.

My intention with this blog and these posts is to crowdsource ideas about personal finance, investments and to document my journey. I still have student loans, though not nearly as much as I used to, and I have been able to grow my investments and my knowledge in personal finance to a place where it makes sense to start posting about what I am doing and how I am doing it. This is not meant to be a place where I brag about my successes but rather a place where I can openly share my journey, set new goals and celebrate my personal growth. I hope that some of you will join me in this quest and will share your thoughts along the way.

For the uninitiated, FIRE does not mean that you go sit on a beach somewhere drinking margaritas all day everyday (though you could if you wanted). To me, it means that you have the financial wherewithal to dictate your day-to-day. If you choose to work, it is because you want to work, and it is probably on projects that you want to do. If you want to travel or take a sabbatical, you do that instead. The path to get to a place where this is possible is not magic or witchcraft; it is simple math mixed with a game-plan and dedication.

Full disclosure, I did not create this concept, and there are a number of awesome non-steemit blogs that can offer a source of inspiration and information about the FI/FIRE community. I will be reviewing those resources in future posts, along with some of their best and most off-the-wall ideas about saving money and investing.

Sort:  

Welcome to the great world of Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit @sclazy! Glad to see all the hate I picked up on the MMM forum wasn't in vain. 😊

I'm following you cause we personal finance peeps gotta stick together. Later tonight I will let you know of a few people you might like to read.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask me. Fornow, just find people that write stuff you like and leave them a comment and an upvote - be sure to follow as well.

Build yourself up, write well, and create a following to get rewarded. It doesn't happen overnight, but do you expect to join Instagram and immediately get money?

Thanks, @getonthetrain for the thoughts. I got so excited i quickly posted another article https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sclazy/what-s-your-number. I think I need to slow it down a little and better plan the overall approach. That said, this is a lot of fun (and a little addicting).

Welcome to steemit sclazy! just express yourself and the things that you enjoy and you will do fine here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69473.97
ETH 3761.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75