I'm an editor currently getting screwed over by YouTube.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)


Hey! My name is Schlatt. I make video essays, podcasts, and everything in between. You can find me on YouTube and Twitter, but I've been searching for alternatives to both of these sites for months.

On January 8th, YouTube suddenly and unjustly deleted my channel for "violations of the community guidelines." There was only one problem: I had never broken a single guideline. I talk about it more in the video linked above. Long story short, I've had it with YouTube treating me like shit, and I've been looking for another platform to share my videos with. I think I've found it here on Steemit and Dtube!

The decentralized nature of cryptocurrency has always appealed to me, and having a decentralized platform to upload my videos to is exciting as hell. No longer will I have to worry about my channel being terminated for no reason, nor will I have to worry about losing ad revenue because my videos are "not suitable for advertisers." This is huge for me, and I'm psyched to get started here.

-Schlatt

DISCORD SERVER
PATREON


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That won't happen to you on @dtube or steemit, glad you found your way to this place :)

Welcome to this awesome platform, I know that people even some of my friends hate youtube but anyway good thing you have found a new site. =)

Youtube and Topbuzz are guilty of this. They will delete content and accounts without even reviewing it. Then you are forced to appeal and you receive a generic message a few days later not answering any of your questions. Not to forget they do not allow you to withdraw any of your earnings

Seems like a lot of people are moving away from YouTube. Welcome

Fuck youtube man! (same goes for facebook but we're not talking about that now)
Youtube started out absolutely wonderful but as soon as it was taken over it slowly went down the drain (yes yes... at the start there was an uptrend... but you'll see this happening everywhere. Takeover -> Uptred -> motitization pushed to far -> crap)

Sorry to hear this happened to you man! and welcome!

Thanks wolv! It's almost laughable how bad the site is for creators nowadays. Just yesterday they sent everyone an email saying channels who don't earn 4000 hours of watch time a year are going to lose the ability to monetize their videos.

There's no way I am going to meet that threshold, so I guess when they start rolling out these new changes, I'm going to lose monetization completely. I'm glad I've found steemit in time!

Yeah they are killing the people the platform was made for... the small content creators... Hell in 4 or 5 years you will only see Hollywood like budget channels on there releasing their movies in order to get to that 1mil hours watch time and 2mil views a week threshold...
Its a sad day for the small guy

TrustedFlagger Ben tweeted @ 16 Jan 2018 - 23:24 UTC

Official YouTube Update: to monetize videos on YouTube you now need 1,000 subscribers and 4,000 hours watch time https://t.co/ksNSsiW4yj

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Sweet Video I like it.

Fu... youtube!

Video takes a while to buffer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79