Greetings from The Lady with her Ducks in everything but a Row

IMG_20170927_162750_634.jpg

Hello dearest Steemians!

My first post is a question and a proposal.

Why do we read self-help books or blogs? I think the concept of self-help literature is an utterly condescending one that reduces a potentially life changing piece of writing to something very one-dimensional. With a self-help book, the reader is the pathetic one, haplessly trying to save him/herself through the revelations of others.

I don't know about you, but my personal definition for self-help is to help myself to another cookie.

We need to think of another collective term as an alternative. Then on the other side of the ‘words that don’t do justice to the meaning’ you get a word like ‘perforated’, which sounds lofty and important, but mostly describes the small holes along which you tear your toilet paper. Language is so unfair.

Back to the topic of reading people’s stories and why we are so fascinated by what they have experienced, conquered and learned. We want to be enthused. We want to be convinced that there is more to life for us too. We desperately want to be able to relate to ordinary people who have risen from the ashes into greatness and lived to tell the tale. We want to look up to someone. We want to believe in magic. We long to be inspired to reach our own set of great heights and overcome the sludge and slurry of our own banal lives. We need tools, skills and knowledge to help us navigate ourselves through adversity, ordinary life and the pursuit of our dreams.

We want a sage, we want a champion...we want a unicorn.

I would like to offer a different angle. What about more help-me books? Books written in the trenches, not reflecting to wounds that have already healed and then only been given the right to boldly brag with the impressive battle scars? We love wearing our past failures like badges of honor, and there is nothing wrong with that either, but what about books bravely exposing the honesty of distress, worries, fears and pain? There are so many of us hiding in the shadows, cowering in corners, kept captive by fears and weakness, battling it out quietly and waiting for the day we can stand in victory before showing the world what we have to offer. Artists encrypt their vulnerability into songs, poems, artworks and novels, purging their aching by pouring their hearts into symbolic anthems and monuments, but what about the rest of us?

What I would like to offer, is an honest, unadorned journal. A collection of anecdotes and musings from someone that doesn’t have all her ducks in a row, let alone in one courtyard. Someone whose ducks are stuck in trees or meandering through the kitchen with muddy feet and obnoxiously loud quacks.

The lady without her ducks in a row becomes a friend. We all need the friend that offers you a glass of wine in the cleanest of her dirty glasses and sits next to you on the porch. That friend tells her story and you tell her yours, you talk about anything and nothing for hours and with the ordinariness of the exchange, you feel safe and you breathe easy.

I sure need a friend like that, and I would love to be that friend to you.

Sort:  

Welcome on board!

Thanks cron! Appreciate it!

congratulations to join my dear friend @scarletstar
hopefully you feel at home and succeed in media steemit platform. This medium is where we learn how to post professionally and freely from plagiarim. Where steemit is very demanding us to be sportsmanship in sharing all sorts of news, which happens in our daily lives. Congratulate our friends, send us all that benefits us on the steemit platform.@nellysteem

Thank you so much for being my first commentor. Haha. I am going to check outt your profile soon!!

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

Thank you for the good luck. I feel fortunate with all the well wishes!

Ah So trots op jou eerste blog, vriendin!
I'm so glad you joined and I'm excited to see what you come up with.

This lady is a force of nature and I am very happy to call her my friend:)

Thank you so much for ALLLLLL your support. Feel super rich just having a friend like you. Let's do this thang!

Howdy @sacrletstar,
I enjoyed your introduction, delivery and thinking. The title captured me and the content has me interested so I look forward to more of your writing.
As far as your ducks go, I have found that they taste better roasted with garlic and butter.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

This is the best comment I've ever seen and it made me smile :)
Following you now good sir.

Thanks darling.

I totally agree regarding the ducks. Nothing like a little fois gras too! Thank you for your support. I will be posting soon!

Thank you acknowledging my comment, I look forward to your post.

Congratulations @scarletstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

HI .... congratulations from my side .welcome to steemit platform ..I commented on your post...I have created a fb page " steemit global community" join us...we will give you all the help needed.
Follow me on @abdullahkhattak..

Thank you very much for your support. I will look you up on Facebook for sure. I need all the help I can get!

Nice post, welcome on steemit, hope you enjoy your time here.

Thank you very much. Hope you like my posts. See you around on Steem!!!

Welcome here on Steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice pictures. Thank you!

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time.

Thank you for all the love. I am quite sure I am going to have a blast. See you around. Will be posting number two a little later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54