You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Just an Island Boy Living in Utah who Loves EDM :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Peace, Love, and Unity brother!
I was a rave promoter and dj back in the 90's; after contributing to the birth of the scene in North America over 20 years ago, reading about the spirit that's still alive and your authentic position on the scene today makes me very happy.
Play nice with each other, take care of one another, give more than you take.
In the final analysis,
We are one
@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

That's so awesome!! Thank you so much for reading my post! I take it you're no longer active in the scene, then? If so, what brought you to leave EDM behind? I recently watched an old movie about EDC 2000 and it was so eye-opening to me to see other people from way back in the day saying and talking about a lot of the same things that we still say and talk about today. It blew my mind!

Once upon a time, in the mid 90's when I was growing up, one of the only places you could go out and be "out of the closet" in a mixed crowd was the rave scene. I'm straight, and it was nice to see a scene where nobody was judging anybody else for anything; everybody was cool with one another.
Keep an eye on my Steemit blog for the next week and you'll see what involvement I've still got going with the scene 😉

Indeed, that is one of the things that I love the most about the EDM scene! Out on that dance floor, none of that societal divisive crap matters...no one cares what color your skin is, what gods you believe in, what political party you belong to or which candidate you support, who you love, etc. Everyone is just there enjoying the music and the good vibes and taking care of each other, making sure everyone is safe, etc. I'm actually working on a series of posts about my EDM experiences over the past few months, so be on the look out for those! I'll head over to your profile and check it out as well, of course! :)

Fantastic 🙂 👍
Please keep your followers (myself among them) up to date on your involvement in the house music scene!
I've learned this past week at ADE in Amsterdam that the term 'EDM' is grossly out of favor so I'll refer to it as house music (I've been saying EDM for too long, apparently lol 😉).
My best man at my wedding, past business partner, and best mate for 30 years is George Hatiras --> hatiras.com check it out, no doubt you've lost your head to his tunes...
Connects are the best!
Hopefully he'll be in your country and invite me along for the ride (we've toured together in Japan, Prague, South America, all over Canada & the United States, etc.)
Hope we hit your region and you and a few friends can be put on the guest list to party with us behind the decks brother!

Thank you so much! I'm heading back to California for a festival later this week, actually, so you can expect to see some new content for The Dancing Dreamers real soon! That's interesting that the term "EDM" has fallen out of favor in Europe...it's blowing up here in the USA :P It seems to have replaced "techno" as the catch-all term for electronic music in today's age.

If he ever does come to Utah, please let me know! I'd love to come see him spin live! And if that provides an opportunity to meet you as well, that's even better! :) Partying behind the decks with you guys sounds like it would be so much fun :D

Done and done ✅
If he ever invites me along to a party in Utah I promise to let you know in this feed - you can never surround yourself with too many awesome, authentic people 🙂

I used to do rave promotions for warehouse shows back in the 90s as well :) Cool beans - meeting people of like minds and such. I like the play nice with each other part on there. Ha. So true.

Hell yeah! See what I mean about your vibe attracts your tribe?!? :D

True that :) Have you heard the new one on the chillsteps? It is the Philosopher's Mix Tape. I am kind of in love with it! swoon!

No I haven't, I'll have to check it out!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61498.89
ETH 2962.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49