Introducing myself!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello, everyone. I'm Marcelo.


And I'm a writer and amateur filmmaker. This is my very first post, so: #introduceyourself.

alt text
Photo of me taken by a friend, who insisted I wear that shirt.

About myself:


I'm 24 years old. My native language is spanish, but I write both in spanish and english. When I say I am a filmmaker, I mean it in a very broad sense; I write, direct, edit and basically do most things myself. If I could film myself acting, I would. But I'm not a youtuber, thank god.

But, to talk more about me as an actual person, I'll talk about my life, not what I do.

I have epilepsy-- I've had seizures since I was 14. Since my parents where always quite funny about traditional medicine, I didn't start taking medication (which, by the way, is quite expensive) for it until I was 18. Currently, I've been seizure free for 1 year and 9 months. I feel like I should add that over the years, seizures have been the cause for small scars on my face because I would fall on the ground and hit my face. I also lost 4 teeth when I fell on my face unconscious during a seizure about four years ago.

I was an addict. But I've been sober for two years. I was badly addicted to cocaine and alcohol not too long ago. For two years, I didn't do much but drink, smoke cigarettes and weed, take shrooms and take small amounts of drugs all day. Then I was introduced to cocaine by my dealer. It escalated very quickly. I immediately dropped every other drug (except alcohol) and started doing cocaine every day. I had to sell many of my things, including my precious drums and cymbals. I still feel a knot in my stomach when I think about it. One time, I sold a 400$ snare in perfect conditions for 100$ because I was out of drugs and money. To make it short, I ended up overdosing 2 times before realizing I was going to die if I didn't stop. And I did stop, and I'm happy now. I don't drink, I don't smoke. Hell, I don't even drink coffee. I do, however, take xanax for anxiety, but mostly because...

I was diagnosed with a heart condition a year ago. This was long after I'd stopped taking drugs, but the doctor said that I was incredibly lucky my heart didn't give up on me. The condition is called mitral valve prolapse and, what that means, is that when my heart pumps blood to the rest of my body, one of the valves doesn't close properly, which causes a small amount of blood to flow back into the heart at the same time. This condition I probably have had all my life but it was because of the strain I put on my heart that it got worse. I am now medicated with heart medication (beta blockers) and the previously mentioned xanax.


My goal is to make beautiful, meaningful art. To write, to make films, and to share it with all the people that I can.

Here, on Steemit, I'll be posting my written works, photographs, and any other thing I make. Hopefully, you'll like it.

Thank you for reading, I hope to be a member of this community!

Sort:  

@saturnx thats a great introduce yourself post. I'm going to follow you as I'm sure it will be interesting.

Thank you so much!

Nice Post !! Resteem to 3100+ followers. Send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @bibkchhetri ( post URL in memo) to get more upvotes . Service Active 🙂

Hey, welcome to the community @saturnx. That’s quite a story you have for such a young man. It’s always good to hear the survival stories of addiction and how you have come out of it better than before. Thank you for sharing such intimate details of your journey. ✌️

Hi MArcelo how are you? Really interesting intro, well written my friend ! I would like to connect with other cool and creative steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Merci beaucoup!

It's nice to meet you Marcelo. Welcome to Steemit!
I'm also new in here, and I can't wait to see more of your posts, just started following you, would appreciate if you would follow me back :)

Nice to meet you, too. Thanks.

Welcome Marcelo, hope you will have a great time here on steemit ! You have a good hairstyle. Greetings from Serbia.

Thanks a lot!

Welcome to steemit @saturnx. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

welcome to steemit man! im sure you'll love it here! :)

Thanks, Andy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63