It's me!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My name is Sarah. At the time of this writing I am 27 years old and I’m living in California and I still take awkward bathroom selfies. I'm not sure why I'm wearing a raincoat in the bathroom.

me.jpg

I first heard about Steemit from my husband who has been very interested and involved in crypto currencies for a while now. He has been more interested in the mining side of things. The Steem community appealed to me because that’s just it…it’s a community.

For years I have fancied myself a writer but I’ve been doing everything and anything I can to avoid that calling. I’ve wanted for a long time now – at the very least – to start a blog. But I avoided it. I’ve had ideas for novels and stories and fictional podcasts floating around in my brain demanding to get out. I have abandoned notes on slips of paper, in journals, on my phone, and files on files on files in my word processor.

This year, 2018, is the first year that I have begun to seriously pursue any creative projects. Since my graduation from college, I’ve been working full time for various companies in the general capacity of a writer. My most recent job was a legal writer but the firm I worked for succumbed to bankruptcy and my last day was on December 29, 2017.

There’s nothing like forced change to jolt you awake.

There’s always been something about having a crutch – a full time job – that interfered with my ability to write. To really dedicate myself to it. That crutch meant that failure was sort of an option. That writing was some side thing I did to amuse myself. I didn't really have to try at it.

It doesn’t feel like that so much anymore.

And now, I have, at the very least started a blog of sorts here. So far it’s nothing spectacular, but it’s a start and it has helped my confidence to share.

Aside from what I want to be, what I am is a wife and a dog mom. Even though I cringe at the term “dog mom” a little bit. My husband is a traveling nurse, so we tend to bounce around to new places every three months or so. We’ve been to Oregon, North Dakota, and California in 2017.

hubby.jpg

^hubby^

We travel around with our dog, Milton the beagle. Yes, he is named after John Milton. (That dude who wrote Paradise Lost).

Milton.jpg

^a very good doggo^

I like reading. (The books I read in 2017 are listed here: https://steemit.com/books/@saronym/books-i-read-in-2017).

books.jpg

I like running. (I'm the red hat chick).

running.jpg

I like hiking. (This is in Colorado Springs).

hiking.jpg

I like karaoke.

karaoke.jpg

I like Star Wars.

starwars.jpg

And I really like wearing this leopard print onesie around to confuse people. This is at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

catsuit.jpg

Nice to meet you. See ya 'round.

XoXoXo

Sort:  

Wellcome, Good post follow me @imnotme

Welcome to steemit Sarah, this is a great platform to start with and the community is awesome in here, provided you contribute good content and help steemit grow,but as of now when you start as a newbie here you are called a minnow and we have a very hard time making followers and getting upvotes at start so help each other out ! I am Dave , a fellow minnow,follow me and lets keep fosted.

Welcome newbie, I love simple life too and dont forget you have a whole lot of friends waiting for you to join
Enjoy dear

Haha!

Welcome to steemit! Follow me and I'll follow you back!

Upvote for upvote!

Cheers! =)

Hey. Welcome. this site is developing rapidly. get accustomed. I'm also new to the way.))

Welcome! And thank you for confirming that getting older doesn't always mean giving up the things you love. I either use to be or currently am involved in almost everything you wrote about. Big difference was the onesie. Mine was a bright green Mumu at a pajama party at a club I went to with a couple of my gay friends back in the 70's, lol. Plus there is the fact you are a good bit younger than my only child. Keep on writing, be sure to share some of your work and you will be GREAT here.

@saronym, welcome to Steemit. You have joined a great community.

My advice:

  1. Keep meeting people, especially in the comments section.
  2. Strive to write great content.

Great intro post. Thanks for sharing all of the photos.

@sumatranate


FREE GIFT - Check out my online course about formatting your Steemit posts.

Welcome to steemit! @saronym😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68288.30
ETH 2649.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69