A Revolution sometimes starts with a Revelation

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians.

Ready to welcome a new member? Hope you are!

A colleague of mine was rambling on about blockchain technology a couple months ago and I never really took the time to listen to them. Each time he would bring up the topic, I would listen for a bit and then my mind would drift to other work issues that required my attention.

I still remember looking towards him while he was browsing sites and watching vids about blockchain technology and thinking to myself, what a dreamer, doesn’t he have anything better to do!!!

Needless to say, it was him that introduced me to STEEMIT. I must admit that I am really not a big fan of social media sites and my activity on such sites has been low, very low. I never even took the time to write this much on other social media sites. But to know that there is a community willing to acknowledge your contribution, hey, that’s a first and I would much rather be a part of this than others.

So I still have a long way to go to learn more about the platform and how to best leverage content from it – including sharing of course.

Let me start with a short introduction. Firstly, you can call me Sanj. I have been I the IT Industry for 20+ years and have enjoyed it for the batter part of my career. Honestly no regrets. But has the reward felt justified, definitely not.
I’ve always been looking for other options, worked on some but work always got the better of me in terms of my time and dedication.

I’m also a father of two with a beautiful wife. And it’s this personal journey that makes so much sense on why I should be STEEMING !. The signs have been there all this year and I’m only just waking up.

Sign 1
After many years of not doing much exercise, I decided this year to join my 6 year old at his Karate Class. I can’t even begin to describe the pain I felt for the first two weeks, and that was only after a 45 minute training session. I had the Steam knocked right out of me. I needed more STEEM but I just couldn’t find it!

Sign 2
Bedtime stories are a real treat for my kids, helps put the wife to sleep too - hahahaha. Reading is important in our household and we spend lots of time reading. I’m hoping now that some creative writing will also become useful - for me and for others out there who can learn from my 20+ year experience. Recently, all the boys want to us to read to them are stories of Thomas the Tank Engine and his friends. I think I know them all already. There are certainly valuable lessons for kids in these stories but for me, it was all about the little Steam Engines trying to make it work for themselves. And what did they use steam power. Now every night this subliminal message was being thrown in my face and I didn’t get it.

But now I do. Just like all those Steam Engines, I too could do with some STEEM POWER.

This may be my first, but it is definitely not my last – I will be back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57