Introducing Myself: First Hello to the Steemit Community

Bongu (hello/good morning in Maltese) to everyone in the Steemit community and those of you currently reading my introduction. My name is Geraldine and well I’m not the best at introducing myself; I mean who ever really thinks about how they’ll introduce themselves, other than their name? So here goes…

Many call me Geri or G for short. I’m pretty open with nickname (once nicknamed Jelly, couldn’t tell you why, girlfriend just decided on it one day). I find it quite interesting how nicknames are created, so feel free to send some my way. As you’ve probably already guessed I have a Maltese nationality, half that is, the other half is German. I’m quite proud of my Maltese heritage, it’s certainly the one I identify with most.

For those interested putting a face to the name: Spending dusk at the beach. IMG_7263.JPG

Speaking of identity, I find identity theories fascinating; how we identify ourselves, and the impact this has on our membership and belonging to life. Perhaps I can explore this with you in another post? I believe there is sabiha (beauty in Maltese) in all that we come across in life. Sometimes it’s not easily seen, though if we can find the beauty, it makes life that much easier to belong to. Beauty and greatness are closely connected in my eyes and I believe we all hold greatness within us. It’s just a matter of allowing ourselves to discover the greatness or beauty within, to reach the ultimate goal of self-actualisation; believed to be one’s full potential and realising this potential within yourself. It’s my hope that I am able to create an empathetic, understanding and compassionate space in which one can freely and openly express who we are. I hear the Steemit community is a great place to do this, along with connecting to likeminded individuals. I also hope to connect with polar opposites, since I enjoy stepping out of my comfort zone and meeting new minds; you never know what you’ll learn to love.

I hope to provide some knowledge and entertainment through my posts and look forward to learning more from you all. When I sat down to think about what the heck I’d write about on Steemit, I thought about all my interests, interests I hope you’ll find as stimulating as I do. I’m a dancer at heart, so music of all kinds and creativity through physical expression is liberating. I’m quite fond of nature and discovering ‘new hidden’ locations, ones I look forward to sharing with you. Any sort of adrenaline activity I’m in for; up next is paragliding, wish me luck. Animals…where do I even start, essentially I admire all animals and their individuality. I recently taught myself the art of crocheting and found the sabiha in nature’s crystals, plants and essential oils. I hope to get back into the passion of cooking, having various allergies I’m always on the lookout for new allergy friendly recipes.

A little peak into some of my interests: Steemit intro re-sized.jpg

Among the other topics I’m excited to express with you are psychology, health and wellness and sharing my experiences with chronic illnesses. I’ve been studying psychology, counselling and community services for the last few years. During my studies I stumbled upon Narrative Therapy, and this has now become one of my favourite ways of being. Something I’m excited to share with you all.

Thank you for reading my introduction, hopefully it provided some sort of entertainment for the time you toke to read it. I hope to see more of you in the future. I look forward to meeting everyone whom I cross paths within this digital space. I’m a pretty open book and happy to answer questions you may have, so fire away!!

Geraldine xx

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @sabiha-gold! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi there :) I see you're possible a fan of the Archer series. Cyril is hilarious. It seems my intro got duplicated.

welcome! Im glad youve decided to joined the party!

Long live and prosper.

Hello @sabiha-gold and welcome to Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52