My 1st post! Photos, Drone Video and Verification inside.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Being on here feels like the start of something new. A transformation in the way information is created, shared, stored, and compensated for. A community with a vote that matters. What a time to be online!

Hi Steemit!

Let’s get to know each other. I’m excited to be part of the community.
rucat edit.jpg
I have to admit I’ve been stalking you for a about two months now and I’m learning something new every day.

Me:

I’m Ruwan a 31 year old guy that lives in Austin, Texas.

The Austin 360 bridge.

I was originally born in Canada but my family is from Sri-Lanka and I lived there till I was 5.
I shoot and edit video professionally, mainly corporate/commercial/marketing type stuff. Recently I’ve been getting into more drone work and it’s a lot more fun shooting stuff in the sky than on the ground. I’d love to help out anyone who has questions about video production stuff.

I love music, journalism, film, technology, history and combining all of those with traveling. I’ve got a ton of media over the years that I still need to shift through. I’m excited to turn them into stories and share them here.

Crypto and Me:

I’m still a crypto noob. I first heard about Bitcoin back in 2010 and thought it was a good idea but didn’t think to do anything with it. I’ve kept an eye on it throughout the years and brought some about a year ago. I was very interested in Ethereum but that was around the DAO hack and it scared me off a bit. Boy was I wrong. After starting my deep dive, I really do believe in it’s potential to change the way the world operates. It’s as if someone was telling you about the internet in the late 80’s.

STEEMIT and Me:

When researching new cryptos I came across STEEM and Steemit. I’m shocked I didn’t hear about it before. I was skeptical at first but after talking to people and researching more I think it has the potential to disrupt the way people communicate online. And hey I want to get my username while I still can =). So I pretty much jumped ship from facebook and reddit! I’m still learning about the way the site works and I’m sure I’ll have plenty of questions but everyone seems real friendly.

I’m still learning how to use steemit and considering exactly what to post. For now I think I’ll just aim to have one post a week.

Because Steemit is in it’s infancy I’m excited to be a part of it at a fairly early stage and help chart it’s course to see it grow, add new features, work through it’s problems, and become a part of millions of people’s lives.

I’m going to leave you with some bits from my adventures:

If you have any questions, please ask!

Steemit images (1 of 1).jpg
On a hike in Mount Rainier

Steemit images (1 of 13).jpg
The Routeburn Track in New Zealand

Steemit images (5 of 13).jpg
A view of Bogotá , Colombia

Steemit images (6 of 13).jpg
Piedra del Peñol of Colombia

steemit verify 2.jpg
Verification

Steemit images (7 of 13).jpg
Iceland

Steemit images (8 of 13).jpg
Iceland

Steemit images (10 of 13).jpg
Iceland

Steemit images (11 of 13).jpg
Can you guess? Iceland

Steemit images (12 of 13).jpg
The Maldives

Steemit images (13 of 13).jpg
Galle, Sri-Lanka

Steemit images (3 of 13).jpg
Skiing in Colorado, USA

Sort:  

That means there's only better things to come.

Welcome to Steem @ruwan I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Your crypto influence is strong, brother! Great post @ruwan

Thanks bud. Looking forward to your first post.

Welcome. That moustache is impressive!

Thanks! It's been growing for about 4 years.

Yeah, I dig that stache too. Saw its gloriousness in person for the first time yesterday. :)

welcome to steemit brother.
i wait your next drone photo here
Greating from Aceh
@sogata

Thanks! Me too. I just got a DJI Mavic last week and that thing is so tiny I could take it anywhere.

This is a good article.

Thanks a lot. If you have any questions ask away.

Cool! Welcome! These photos are beautiful!

Thanks!

Nice intro … keep it up with professional work and good things will happen. Here a sample of one of my posts.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/i-hate-math-i-love-math-is-it-me-and-only-me-the-one-with-this-dilemma-the-importance-of-mathematics

Read it & UPVOTE if you appreciate it and if you find it interesting please FOLLOW for further exchange of ideas.

Work hard and best of luck,

@indepthstory

Thanks a lot I'll check it out.

A new Steemian :-) hello @ruwan I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome @ruwan aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52