Hello, I'd like to introduce myself...

I'm Russ, and new to Steemit, so an introduction is a good place to start. I live in the oldest town in Texas and teach and make art. Have been making and showing art for almost 15 years now professionally. I've recently become interested in cryptos and someone pointed me to Steemit, which looks fun and maybe what Facebook should be. I will be sharing some of my art, photographs, and random asides as this thing gets rolling. Anyway, nice to meet you...follow me and i'll follow you back as i'm interested in meeting new folks and exchanging ideas.
Here's one of my "Constructed Landscapes" called Corridor.
Enjoy and have a great day!
corridor.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @rustynails....🙋🤗🙋
A very very welcome on steemit....🙋🤗😍
Now on ur artwork, it is "AWESOME"....💠💮💠
Very beautiful..🎨🖼🍀
Thanx for sharing.....💐🌸💮🏵💮🌼🌹

welcome to the steemers family

Hi and welcome to Steemit. I hope you like it here and good luck :)

Hi. Can you elaborate on this piece of art? What's it made of, why it has this brick pattern, why this shape?

the structure is made out of laminating blocks of wood...in this case Poplar, but it could be any wood that doesn't ding too easily and isn't too heavy. the painting is done on 140 weight watercolor paper and then applied in sections to the wooden structure. I usually start with a shape that is interesting, either from a preliminary drawing or randomly putting together scraps of wood. I then find a scene (landscape, cityscape, non-objective patterns, or some combination I find visually appealing) i think works with the shape in some sense. A curve could lend itself to a panorama, or in this case a panorama that has atmospheric perspective and distance. The pattern shapes are generally rectilinear, partly out of the adhesion process of getting the image onto the wood, which leaves vertical seams. In this case, the blocks wrap around the curve, which makes the viewer deal with two types of space--that on the surface (patterns) and the illusion of space and distance. They are different for each piece, but there maybe something to the idea of constructing, tearing down, and re-building onto a surface that i find appealing. I tend to cover my works in paper, partly out of growing up working in an upholstery shop and I've always been a sucker for Bauhaus and Kurt Schwitters. The whole process is very collage-like, even the shape formation.

Welcome to Steemit! Wow, that's a cool art piece. Like how it comes out in 3D. Look forward to more art, will follow! What is that structure made of? Paper mache, wood?

it's made of poplar wood, carved with various saws and sanders. the painting is done on paper and then applied to the structure with an acrylic gel....then cut into and rearranged. thanks for the interest!

Welcome and play in steemit app. I Hope you can share useful things with your writing and develop in this steemit app. Here we can mark the post with a minimum of five hastags for each person's search for the article. Enjoy in this steemit app because we also get additional income. Happy steemit @rustynails

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55