Shinning my light

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Now that my public service announcement is done (last nights blog), let's get on with the show.

I wasn't going to do more than one blog a day but I consider last nights a freebee since it was already written. This morning I am going let my light sign and let you get to know me a bit better with pictures. These pictures are ones where I felt the most empowered, full of life, and free. I hope you enjoy them.

A few years ago, my sister and I along with her daughter went to Chicago to get her daughter a passport so we explored the city a bit. We of course had to stop at The Bean. I was so much fun and it was great being silly with my sister and niece. We need to explore our inner child at time.

My favorite halloween costume as a spider queen. I had fun creating it and I think I did a pretty good job even though make up is not one of my fortes. I got a lot of compliments on this costume. A couple other ones I had fun with was my own version of a troll doll (I kissed a Troll and I liked it) and a celebrity stalker/paparazzi. They were both very home made looking costumes but I had fun with it. I'd rather do these home made funny costumes than a sexy store bought one, though I have worn those before a time or two. In College though, when I'll the other girls were dressed sexy as hookers and the guys were pimps, I put on a monkey mask and some fitting clothing to go with it. I am no comedian but I prefer fun and funny over the "look how great I look" type of thing, though it is fun to dress to impress at times too.

This was a few years ago but I did a cartwheel recently as well. I try to do one every once in a while to keep me young. Not bad for a 52 year old mother of 3 adult sons. A Year in a half ago I woke up to severe back and shoulder pain that I later found out stemmed from my neck. I have a seperation in my disks. I forget which vertebrae. I didn't have the insurance for an MRI then (or even physical therapy) but I did get better, though I still have issues so plan on getting both soon. Because of this I had been afraid to do some of the things I use to do. So me doing a cartwheel a few weeks ago was huge. It wasn't the best but better than I thought I would do considering the shape I am in and how long it has been.

Here are some of the things I use to do. Yoga is more my style now though.


(not quite) polar plunge



My CrossFit days. I loved working on my handstand pushups.

And CrossFit prepared me for the ToughMudder

And I will leave you with my ugly bunny. A good friends very sweet mother once told me I should not post this picture as my profile picture on FB because it wasn't very attractive. Thing is I LOVE this picture because it is me being me. Goofy and silly, and not worried and thinking and being afraid of what other people think. That is what being REAL and letting your light shine is all about.

Thank you for reading and looking and hopefully upvoting. :) See you at my next Blog.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rpalusz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

good, Welcome to steemit..!!

Thanks hellshark. It seems like a good place to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88