Hi! I'm Rory.

Hello Steemit! I'm excited to be here! I don't really like talking about myself, so I'll keep this short and sweet.

I live in the middle of nowhere, i.e. Vermont. If you don't know anything about VT, you can read The Dunwich Horror by HP Lovecraft. That story gives a pretty accurate picture of this state. Even though it's set in Massachusetts, all New England states are basically the same; dark and creepy...

IMG_0174.JPG

Growing up I didn't have many friends. This wasn't because of the fact that I was homeschooled much of the time, but was instead because I was always known as a “know-it-all”. Whenever I was in school I was told to sit down and shut up. I was never allowed to question anything. Well, now I'm 22 and I'm sick of being quiet. I question everything. I love to learn and I love to share that learning. That's why I'm here on Steemit. This seems to be a near perfect place to learn and share and carry out (healthy) debates.

"The gift of mental power comes from God, Divine Being, and if we concentrate our minds on that truth we become in tune with this great power." -Nikola Tesla

I know this may be surprising, but I don't actually know it all. Although I do know a lot and I like to use what I know in conjunction with my insane imagination to write stories. Writing is my way of figuring out this world that we live in. Even though I may write fantasies, or horror stories, or science fiction, it all relates to me, my life and humanity in someway.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge.” -Albert Einstein

I'm not really sure what else to say. But I'm sure that as time goes on we'll get to know each other anyway…

“Of all things, I liked books best.” -Nikola Tesla

Sort:  

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

Welcome Rory, good to have you on Steemit! Love the quotes from the famous Scientists.

Welcome to Steemit from CT, agreed all new england states are basically the same. I was the same way in high school I got sent to the principles office for debating on why the health program was lying to kids about the effects of marijuana and would only cause more kids to go out and try out. they didn't like the opposition even though they knew I was right. Writing was a great outlet for me as well. The world had me very frustrated. Look forward to reading your content!

Cheers

Dante

Thanks! Too many kids have the same experiences in public schools. I never went to the principles office, though, I was too shy. Fortunately my mother took me out and homeschooled me!

I ended up leaving high school a year early to go to college because I hated it so much I just wanted out! Always wanted to be homeschooled as I feel I have learned more from home than I ever did in the distracting hierarchy of the school environment.

Definitely. I would learn more in a day at home than I could in a week at school!

welcome rorymerrick,,,, and good luck

Always good to ask questions and learn. Glad you are on board with Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit from next door in Canada 👍

Welcome to Steemit! I'm sure you'll do great here! :)

Welcome aboard the STEEM train :-D The one thing we need more of here is free thinkers who question everything!

I think you will fit in quite well here...

Look who's here ^^ Rorymerrick, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to steemit dear Friend
I look out to see more of your posts, especially stories have fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79