Hello Steemit, from @RoninGaijin! (Introduce Yourself)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

gaijin-kanji-inverted.png

Hello new SteemIt friends! I go by 2 screen names in the Crypto world: "RoninGaijin", which I will use here; and "Crypto Leprechaun", which is the name use on Twitter (https://twitter.com/gcdwrites). I'm a freelance writer named G.C. Donovan, but to date I doubt you've read any of my stuff as it's been mostly for boring corporate marketing pieces. I am also an IT Consultant and have run several software projects, including many mobile projects on both iOS and Android over the past several years.

My hobbies are numerous, but it may come as no surprise that Blockchain technology and Cryptocurrencies occupy much of my attention of late. While originally skeptical (though I could see how the technology was sound and could work) I became a believe in Crypto (Bitcoin, in particular) in mid-2017. So, yes, I was too late to enjoy the "mad gains" that most of the OG Bitcoiners enjoyed. However, thankfully, I also didn't invest too much $ until after BTC and the Crypto market entered its current Bear market. But I am a big believer now. These currencies (and the technologies that run them) can definitely change the world for the better. And I am overall very positive and bearish on Crypto. Not just BTC, but several others (ETH, LTC, and even smaller upstarts like ADA and TRX). I will be monitoring the markets and buying Crypto here and there consistently... and overall "hodling" and waiting for mass adoption. Because if we as a community play our cards right collectively, mass adoption WILL happen at some point.

I'm also very big on personal privacy and security... and while I am not a big conspiracy theorist I'm at least awake enough to notice that the more power we take away from Governments and Banks and give back to the people, the better. So I am a big proponent of that aspect of the Blockchain/Crypto space as well. Liberty matters.

What else? Well, I suppose I'll use this SteemIt blog to share my personal 2 cents (hey, that's like 5,000 Satoshis!) on all things Crypto and Blockchain. And who knows what else? I may use it to discuss a wide variety of topics and my opinions on them. I've learned that even if no one else reads it, just thinking about something and writing it down (or typing it out) is generally a very good thought exercise. So I will do that here. Hell, I may even write some fiction. Maybe even long-form non-fiction. Perhaps even poetry? Who knows... anything goes here (as it should).

Anyway, there's my brief as could be "introduce yourself". I will enjoy reading everyone else's blogs here and engaging with you all.

Have the greatest of days!

~RoninGaijin

P.S. Why "RoninGaijin"? Well, because I'm American (a "gaijin") but I really, really love Samurai (because they kick ass). And masterless Samurai (as some of you surely know) were known as Ronin.

P.P.S. Why "Crypto Leprechaun"? Because my main ethnicity is Irish. Also, the image of a Leprechaun's pot of gold being filled with Bitcoin was just too obvious. :-P

Sort:  

Hi,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

@charitycurator :)

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!


Welcome to Steemit @roningaijin!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

You are cool. I love Irish culture and worked washing dishes at the Kells Irish Restaurant in Portland, OR. Oh, I love the show, Donovan. Here is an upvote.

Haha! Thanks, man! :)

Welcome to Steem roningaijin! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome roningaijin!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @roningaijin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

welcome to steemit @roningaijin

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome to steemit, I am a crypto fan too and the crypto community here is big. Hope to see stories from you soon.

Welcome to steemit @roningaijin.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66