Greetings from Detroit

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit World!

My name is Rob and originally found out about this community through some friends I met (roadscape and lovejoy) as a member of BitsharesTalk.org. I've been casually interested in cryptocurrency since about 2011. I started looking into it deeper around 2014, when I came across BitSharesX. Stable cryptocurrencies and decentralized markets, you say? Tell me more! I learned about economics, money systems, and game theory from reading Dan's blog and the BitShares forums. What a delightful community of people to find.

My situation at the time involved me living in the middle of a rural community and telecommuting as a remote employee, which gave me extra time to contribute what I could to that project. It wasn't much, but I felt like I could make a difference by investing my time and energy into something I was passionate about. Eventually my internet provider went out of business, so I moved to my own place in Detroit. I continued to telecommute, listen to the beyond bitcoin hangouts, and try doing what I could to help market the project. 

 I was really fortunate  to spend 3 weeks traveling with the CryptoFresh crew on the BitShares P2P roadtrip. I even started trying to learn C++ so I could work on some automated testing, but this ended up being fruitless because the re-release of BitShares, the old codebase was being deprecated. The project still had a lot of experimentation and pivoting to go through, so I ended up "missing the mark" on a few of these ventures. But hey, it was an excellent learning opportunity to partake in those forums and learn from others all over the world.

Along this journey, I learned a lot about life. About commitment, about the perils of temptation, and about taking care of myself. If you really want to know the details, I'll share them. I learned that I needed to step away from my cryptocurrency interests and take care of some other things in my life. I felt unhinged; I wasn't learning or progressing at my career, I was far too impulsive, and I was most of all, unhappy.

Then, one day I had an experience with MXE that gave me a new perspective. I've always been interested in (responsibly) exploring my mind with psychedelics. This particular experience was new to me; I didn't even know what MXE was, so I did my research first, and figured I would give it a go and see. 

What a kick in the mind! What followed was a critical self-reflection of who I am, what I am doing with my life, and the realization that I have to be the impetus for change in my life. I have to break out of my unhealthy behavioral cycles and re-wire my tendencies. It was a motivating experience, and a powerful one. I would not suggest that you try this without being in the proper mind set and setting, and without doing your own research first.

The first thing I ended up seeking out a new employer that gave me a lot of opportunities to learn and grow in my field. I slowed down on my bad gambling habits. I moved in with some friends that were supportive and lowered my overhead. I met a wonderful girlfriend. Not just because I had this experience, mind you, but because I harnessed the new perspective from it to break out of my regressive behaviors!

Now, I think, life is much better for me. I learned some hard lessons back there, but it has made me stronger, and given me food for thought.

Some other things about me

I love hiking! Here's a few pictures from my journey last weekend:

Lake Superior- the largest body of fresh water in the world!

Camping Off Lake Superior in the Porcupine Mountains

Another Shot of the Porkies

I'm also an avid biker. Here's a shot of the road bike I recently revived:

Thanks for reading!

Twitter

Sort:  

Awesome, welcome Rob! A Detroit native myself although I haven't lived there in quite a while now. Glad to have you here.

Thanks @thepresident. I just posted the first blog post in a series about #detroit I am going to periodically release, if you are interested. Check it out here.

Great to see you again. Welcome to the next big thing!

Thanks donkeypong, right back at you. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Hey Rob. Glad you are coming over.

Long time no see, bitcube!

Hi! You live in our house! We on da innernet! Thanks for buying the turbo can of coffee, it will surely supply a large volume of bean buzzes for us and ours.

Hey Matt. I'm glad you're back from Kentucky. We missed you.

Missed y'all more! Definitely overdosed on KY this time around. Wont be going back for at least a year+.

wow that was a long post. Haven't figured out what steemit was about though

Great intro robrigo. Gotta say, I think BTSX was the hardest drug after all. :D

Haha, most definitely.

Detroit seems like an awesome place to live! How about all the abandoned houses that have been talked about by the media? I heard there're homeless people doing drugs and sleeping in the empty houses left behind. Definitely, doesn't look like a bad place though!

I live in detroit and its only gotten better so far

I think somewhere around 50% of the city is abandoned. It's a sprawl, but there's still a lot of strong neighborhoods too. Getting stronger everyday.

Mxe sounds like a hell of a drug.

Welcome to steemit.

I like that forest pic. Awesome

Hi Rob! Also an avid biker/mountain biker here. Have some dear friends from Detroit from the electronic music community. Glad to have you aboard!

Greetings, Rob. its matts bro, tommy.

Hey Tommy! Glad you came on the site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65