A little about me...

I think this will be the most information I have ever posted about myself online, granted I am pretty sure google knows me better then my own mother. Any whoosil, I am from the great white north, the mightiest Edmonton in all of Alberta! I have 2 small businesses that I own with my girlfriend. The first is construction, framing to be exact, this is my main gig. And the second is a screen printing shop, this is her main gig. When one is slow that person helps the other and vice versa. It keeps us employed, which is nice. I have 2 fur babies, they have been the main focus on this blog so far, because they own me and demand the attention.

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 8.02.30 PM.png

I have a work in progress tattoo sleeve that, like most, I am pretty proud of. It is the poem 'Do Not Go Gentle into That good Night' The artist is amazing and so far has had full control, each session I go in and she states what line it will be and then she goes at it. The idea is that each line follows a different muscle line, has a different font and is a different size. Originally it was going to be just the title but hey, things happen.

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 8.03.07 PM.png

THE POEM

Do not go gentle into that good night
Dylan Thomas, 1914 - 1953

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 8.03.21 PM.png

There is substantially more done, I do not, however, have photos. That would involve me being topless, and although I am not overweight, I do have body issues. Not serious ones but enough that the internet doesn't need to my dad bod lol.

I love photography, writing, making videos, and whatnot, which is why I got on to this site. It seems to be a neat all encompassing site that encourages all of it. The community on here seems really supportive!

I have read a bunch of peoples #introduceyourself posts on here and found myself wanting to know more about specific things, I do hope they add more about themselves over time. I will glaze over some more notable things about me that I feel are interesting and I will try to make some posts about them later once I figure out what to say. So here are 3 thing more interesting then my job.

1- I was a platform diver / stunt diver
2- I have retrograde amnesia
3- I build things for fun

I know that last one doesn't sound interesting but I promise it might be :p . It's stuff like microphones, motorcycles, guitars... you know, things.

Anyways I don't know what else to put. So here is a photo of my cat the day we rescued him! His name is Oscar and CERN has scientifically identified him as the best cat.

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 8.20.41 PM.png

Sort:  

The typeface doesn’t really matter, as long as the text is good.
Great Post!

Thanks! I don't know how to change the typeface yet, someday though!

Hello, Robin, and Welcome to Steemit.

I like that tattoo. I'm not a fan of tattoos, but as a writer, Eng Lit major, and voracious reader, I am a huge admirer of Dylan Thomas. And I will admit that I do admire tattoos that are interesting and are tastefully done. Good luck with yours as it expands.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

@majes.tytyty Thanks for all that info! I will definitely take all that in mind when I start posting, this is the first blog style site I have been on so this is new to me.

I am a big fan of tattoos that have meaning to the person, the other arm will be 'And death shall have no dominion' two poems to live by.

Again thanks for the advice!

Another great phrase!


One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 2 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

Thanks again!

Welcome aboard. Check out dtube and dlive for video content, they're apps on steem just like steemit is.

Good luck. What sort of fun stuff do you build?

Thanks i will check those out! Right now I am rebuilding a motorcycle and because stuff like electronic derusters and metal engravers are so expensive I build those as well. I like building instruments too so i am planning a video series that each one is building a different instrument and then llaying a song at the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65