👌New to Steem? Today was My First Time Converting SBD to BitCoin on Blocktrades!! SOO EASY! Here's a guide for new Steemians!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My First Time using Blocktrades to turn the SBD I earned to Bitcoin today! ☺☺


I am a fairly new Steemian. I have been on Steemit.com for less than one month. Just like any new Steemian, I asked myself, is this thing for real? Can I earn real cryptocurrency on this social media site? Well I'm here to tell you YES! From one new Steemian to another, I know that it can be a little overwhelming when you first join this site, but with a little persistence, research, and determination, you can learn all the ways that this awesome platform can benefit you financially and even spiritually, culturally, and socially. (but that's another post 😉)

Today I took a small amount of SDB AKA Steem Dollars and turned it into Bitcoin. After the fork of Bitcoin last week, the market cap has steadily increased. I thought it was a good time to convert. I remember reading a post that suggested using blocktrades to convert your SBD into other currency. Boy am I glad I ran across that post. It was incredibly easy to do once I knew what I was doing.

First you go to the Blocktrades Website. https://blocktrades.us/

It will bring you to the page below. 👇

Use the drop down menu to change the send currency type.

For myself, I wanted to exchange my SBD or Steem Dollar directly to Bitcoin. From the drop down menu select the Steem Dollar option if you haven't converted your Steem Dollar into Steem.

Now convert the currency on the receive side.

There are a few cryptocurrency choices that you can select. For me I selected Bitcoin.

After changing your currency type, your screen should look like this ⬇

Now copy your receive address from your wallet. I use exodus wallet. Once you paste/enter your receive address into the designated area shown below, click on the Get Deposit Address button.

You will see a box populate underneath the Get Deposit Address button. The two pieces of information you need is the account name "blocktrades " and your memo. Copy your Memo code.

Now go back into your Steemit.com Wallet and click on the arrow next to your Steem dollar total. On the drop down menu click the Transfer option.

You will get a screen that will pop up that looks like the one below. You need to input 3 pieces of information on this screen.

  1. The blocktrades in the TO: section
  2. The Amount of SBD you want to send
  3. Paste the memo you copied from the blocktrades website

When all is entered click the SUBMIT Button.

Then you are all done! Wait for the money to hit your wallet!

It took seconds for the bitcoin to hit my wallet! At the time of the exchange, my 20 SBD was worth .00471673 which was a little over $15 USD in fiat money. I know it's not much, but I was excited! This was free cryptocurrency that I earned for doing something I love to do, blogging and interacting with other human beings! So if you new Steemians were wondering if this was a real way to earn a little extra crypto, I am here to tell you YES! Some Steemians actually earn a living on Steemit. I know it might take a while but just enjoy the journey.

What do you think?! Did it look easy? Let me know if you have any questions on this tutorial or anything at all on this platform. Right now as a new Steemian I am learning and earning and having fun along the way. I'll post more tutorials to help new Steemians learn as I learn. Enjoy your journey!


*If you enjoyed this post please upvote, resteem, and of course follow me for future posts. Keep on steeming!** 😉

👇👇👇👇👇👇
steemimg.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to the Community !! Wish you much luck! Cheers!

You should keep that steem and invest into steem power...

Noted. I just wanted to see the process of taking it out to see level of difficulty. Surprisingly it was very easy. It was definitely cool for a first timer. lol.

Agreed, investing in SP just gets you more in return over time.

Thank you! Definitely worth noting for future!

Thanks for the post and the answers, also a newbie and found this very helpful

That's wonderful! I was so lost when i first started. I had to read a lot of articles before I even uploaded my first intro post.

I still feel lost sometimes lol, That's why I love articles like this

This is cool! I'm new so this demonstration is really helpful. The algorithm for the whole steem currency + bitcoin thing is so fascinating :)

I'm glad you find it helpful! The first payout I received from posting content, I chose the market option where I sold my sbd for steem on this platform. Using blocktrades was so much easier to convert SBD to other forms of crypto. I don't know which way will yield more crypto in the end but it was definitely easier using #blocktrades. In the future I'll convert some to Steem Power which will increase my voting power and curation rewards. That's what the other Steemians suggest that have been doing this way longer than me.

Welcome to steemit and have my support, it would be great to follow me and a vote thanks and it's the best you could do,

Welcome to Steemit . Thank you for that . All tips are always handy as there are many different options as well as definitions of success .

Congrats. I powered up with mine instead.

Seems like a good way to go!

Hi good welcome to steemit..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66