Hello, and hi.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

So, here goes.

Hello blockchain, hello steemit, and hello you.

I have no idea why I said that.

I am from Kerala, a state in India. I am 24 now, and I hail from a peasant family in rural India. When I say rural, it’s not like what you get to see in the media about rural India though. We have it different where I live. Rubber plantations all around. I played with calves instead of dogs in my childhood, and the biggest moments of childhood introspection came when I was out in the field, grazing cows. Also, I am a graduate in Nanotechnology.


That’s me.

I guess you can deduce that I am not good at sports from the pic.


Some context about Kerala. Because, why not. It's is one of the top destinations to visit in India, or so they say. Lots of greenery. It’s also the state with highest human development index (HDI) in the country, even matching certain European countries at that. I don’t know whether I should be proud of us achieving a high HDI despite being poor, or whether I should be ashamed of us for managing to stay poor despite the high HDI.


Back to me now.

I’d liked reading from an early childhood. I used to read anything and everything that I could get my hands on. And then the idiot box came along and cable took my time and gave me back one tenth the knowledge.


But, I’m trying to get back at reading now, and I’m two-thirds through the book Blockchain Revolution by Don Tapscott and Alex Tapscott. A good read for anyone who’s trying to get to know the technology. I got to know about steemit through Toni Lane Casserly’s mention of it in a Big Think video. Big thanks for that.


One of the best things that I’ve done is a road trip I did a couple of years back. 17000 kilometers (10500 miles) in some 60 days crisscrossing India. It was for a social cause as part of a non-profit, and I had the best experience ever. I stayed in the Himalayan foothills for about six months straight after the trip. The best days of my life so far. I have never been outside the country, though. Hoping that 2017 would be the year. I currently live in my hometown/village by the way.


I don’t have a concrete idea of what I’d be writing here, but I’m hoping that I’d stick around and write something. Something worth everyone’s time, hopefully. The community here looks small enough so that newbies like me are not intimidated by it.

See you around.

Sort:  

Great background story! Welcome to Steemit!!! Upvoted and Followed.

Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks! I hope you got that Kerala is the place's name :D

Hello and welcome to Steemit! I spent 2 months in Kerala last year, it's a beautiful part of the world!

Yeah, it is a beautiful place. I just hope we'll be able to preserve it in its entirety.

Welcome to steemit @richuak. Best of luck to you

Thank you. Looking forward to the journey here.

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35