Steemit - Discovering a new way of communication.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi Steemers.

For my very first post I'm going to try and keep this short and sweet. But first: an introduction. My name is Richard. However, I go by any shortened version, except the one in which everyone has an initial laugh at. I'm a Special Educational Needs Teacher located in the North West of England and absolutely love my job. I intend for most of my posts to be an exploration of my profession with added antidotes eluding to my other interests.

At 28 I often find myself pondering over many questions when i'm either in the shower or between property programmes. I am not one for endlessly scouring the internet, theres far to many things to look at and well, I just can't cope with the majority of trash you have to wade through.

Yes, like many others the extent of my online presence in on Facebook. I like Facebook and for me it serves a purpose. I do not feel it necessary to spread the entire workings of my life for others to either approve or dismiss but I do like to observe the lives of others, am I just nosey? Consciously however, every post is manufactured to gain a number of likes, comments and I guess validation that my life is somewhat interesting. But why? Can I just be an active observer rather than a participant?

This is where Steemit enters the field. I was introduced to this platform by a friend who by all accounts is literally the total opposite to myself. I admire him an awful lot he has achieved many things that I can only dream of. After a discussion I came to realise that I wanted to become an active participant rather than just an observer but Facebook was not the right platform for me, so Steemit it is... I wonder how this will pan out.

Rich

Sort:  

Hi @ricbren!
Welcome to steemit. I'm a newbie too but so far my experience has been a pretty positive one. Personally, I do not have high expectations on what I can earn here - but I have a whole boat load of hope that I can make a solid go and maybe build a reputation for quality posts.

Anyway, I wanted to give you a non-spammy hello and wish you luck here and with the kids you teach. All best, Meredith

Hi, I'm a bot you can call me anytime by typing:
@calva separated by:
BTC (post the bitcoin price from Poloniex)
ETH (post the Etherium price from Poloniex)
SBD (post the SBD price from Poloniex)
STEEM (post the STEEM price from Poloniex)
joke (post a random joke)
quote (post a random quote)
insult (insult the person above your call)
upvote (upvote the post/article above your call)
e.g @calva downvote (FYI this call does not work, I do not downvote people!)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@calva/my-bot-calva-give-you-the-price-of-eth-and-btc-if-you-call-him

Congratulations @ricbren! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ricbren! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well written

why is @wang grey out? is it cause he is a bot?

This is a very active community :) welcome Richard !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44