Hi Steemit, I bring my art and some decent writing chops. This should be interesting. Cheers, Rhuta

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I have painted all my life. Since the time I could remember, birthday gifts have been sheets of paper, regular or fancy handcrafted, colour pencils to consume at unreasonable speeds, felt and ink pens to doodle over anything I could get my hands on. The road map of my childhood marked with art contests and painting workshops, I hardly have memories where I am not clutching a pen or brush in hand. This was a stark difference from the four years I spent at engineering college, studying subjects I did not particularly like or understand, I lost the will to create art. When you're as uninspired as I was then, I doubt you could have the patience or the will to put pen to paper. Years later when I moved into a new house that I had rented with my own money from a corporate job that I disliked as much as the degree I had earned, I met A. She inspired me, reminded me what it was like to pursue a passion, hold on to it and dedicate every fiber of your being to it, even if it was after 5 pm work hours of a dead end job. The painting I want to post here as I introduce myself is one of the earliest I made. Today it hangs on the wall of a house in Singapore somewhere, given to a boy I once dated, another constant in this haphazard life I seem to have been leading. How else to commence a journey if not with the utmost vulnerability and honesty?

I am a Master's student of Business Sustainability studying in Melbourne. I am a struggling artist looking to learn and just sketch. I have been visiting cafes in this amazing city and as I sit sipping some wonderful coffee, I sketch cafes. I plan on covering every cafe there is in Melbourne one day. Sketches from my black book, coming soon. I will also be uploading blogposts that I have recently started writing after a few years' hiatus. The end goal is to just be consistent, as that is one thing I find lacking in my life. Here is to learned passions, borrowed discipline and a journey towards self love.

Here goes, to my first. Humans.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @rhuta I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you, I appreciate it :)

Hey there @rhuta! Welcome to steemit :]

welcome here Rhuta! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thank you :)

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Thanks :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Hi @rhuta welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
Please Follow me @Fshllc so that your posts can appear on my feed and I can see them, read, comment and upvote. I look forward to good partnerships here on Steemit because together we are strong! Have a wonderful day :)

Thank you for the warm welcome! It is great to be part of this collaborative platform :)

Thank you for the follow @rhuta, I am glad to be connected to you on Steemit.
Check out a blog that I just wrote, I look forward to your feedback by commenting, I find you like it you can upvote. Resteembot if you think your audience will find it beneficial. Have a wonderful day :)
https://steemit.com/food/@fshllc/health-benefits-of-bananas-and-banana-chips-as-a-healthy-snack-choice

Rhuta, first of all, welcome to the platform. I'm sure you'll receive many warm welcomes today, so enjoy!

Thanks for sharing about your artwork and your life. Stories like these are what make the Steemit community great. I'm sure there are many people who are looking forward to seeing more of your artwork. I'd love to see some of the cafe sketches in the future.

Staying consistent is a good plan. Best wishes with your Master's program!

Thank you for taking the time to write this. I will post my sketches soon, gives me a chance to eat at some amazing places :)

Great! I'm really looking forward to it. I don't do any sketches, but you might find something interesting on my blog if you check it out. Thanks for responding!

Welcome @rhuta aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
https://steemit.com/steem/@slickhustler007/circle-of-friends-day-2-201783t75945841z

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51