Why I join Steemit?

Why to write in a new open source social media environment if navigating in Facebook there´s always a profile bragging about how he did money with it? This is my first post and after navigating and reading some amazing articles around, I wanted to share why I decided to write here instead of a Wordpress blog, in my Facebook profile or another world known internet media.

I am an almost 30 year old Mexican guy and the main reason that I am here is because I am a hippie. No, not does hippies that goes to alternative music raves or smoke weed in my free time while talking about what´s wrong in the world.

I refer myself as a hippie to explain my disgust of a society that gives power to those who live behind a desk from Monday to Friday creating spreadsheets and even reward staying late to make the numbers look good. A repulsion to a world that prefers to have more “business man” than artists, and that even the entertainers have to adjust their art to sell. That´s the word, I have nausea of a world where the most important thing is sale instead of living.

That feeling is what brought me here. Of course I would like to make money and retire in a year with the millions that a post turned into crypto currency could make, but besides my ideals of a society created not by spreadsheets or weekend, I am realistic. I know that I will have to continue working and I know that retiring is farther than ever, but I think that this is a good platform to begin helping the world avoid the centralization of everything.

I believe that if people begin to support writers, artists or even movie producers from a platform where public can admire their job and recognized it with their sharing and liking without some company behind telling you what to see or share, we are on the right track as a society. Of course I admire the things that big corporations like Disney, Warner, Electronic Arts or Ubisoft do, but I am sure that for every terrible Suicide Squad movie done, there are five ideas around that could have done a good movie that by quality in the script and the admiration of the audience would have achieve the “blockbuster goal, not just because a marketing campaign.

I am just a normal guy that wants to believe in the power of ideas and the people behind them. I don’t know anything about crypto currency or blockchain and I haven’t earn a dollar yet in this kind of media. But I am a believer and I want to believe in a project like this where we could begin changing the world.

I think that this is a first step to begin a society where the artists earn money because their creations without depending on a corporation that can turn them into Gods or doom them to oblivion. A place where piracy is not a problem, because the art is in the reach for everyone and besides that, the content creators are earning money. An open source where we can begin liberating people to study arts instead of choosing a career in finance or marketing because they want a job that pays the bills.

That´s why I chose to write here and I hope that my content could be a sand grain to the big dreams that I have set here.

Sort:  

Hi there, reyojeda, you're welcome.

A warm welcome from me!
Wish u all the best,
Think wisely,before u post,it matters!
Be yourself,dont be ashamed about anything,show your true self,and everything will be as u want!
Good luck,and will see u around!
Cheers!
@sunnysmile

Hi, @reyojeda, and welcome to Steemit. You will soon discover how to move around but I wanted to say that the steemit community is very nice and I am sure you will accumulate followers and get great feedback on your posts very soon.
I'll be following you from now on. If you want to read about good food, travelling, games and cryptocurrencies, feel welcome to follow me. Good luck with Steemit!
I also recommend you check out this post (via your phone) if you want to receive structured news about the crypto world and if you want some daily free bitcoin :)
https://steemit.com/crypto/@cocktailguy/pivot--amazing-platform-truly-great-crypto-news-and-all-super-structured-9ipoq0jx

Welcome to Steem, @reyojeda!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3299 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus for Firefox now available on Mozilla Addons store + Bug Fixes.

Welcome to steemit.
Tip! Read faq and welcoming you can find it here
https://steemit.com/faq.html
https://steemit.com/welcome
Good luck!

Welcome to Steemit reyojeda. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Hey @reyojeda, Welcome to Steemit. If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask me. I will keep an eye out for your work here. In the meantime, if you want to learn more about how this amazing platform operates, please check out my blog, where I wrote an in-depth article about 2 weeks ago about Steemit. You are more than welcome to follow me if it is of any help to you and if you wish to learn more about tech/blockchain. Welcome again.

Welcome to steemit @reyojeda.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67