You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! Scott Santens here. If you've ever googled "basic income", you may have read something I've written.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi Scott, very informative intro. I'm an activist of sorts and a writer of sorts and universal basic income is a theme I'm starting to focus on more and more. I've come across a number of your articles online and it was from them that I found myself here on Steemit. Interesting concept that they've got going here. The idea of user-content and how it is used for free by big networks is something that has "bothered" me I guess, for a while now. Anyway, your post here convinced me to join up, and I will try and use this site as a vehicle to get more of my writing and ideas out there.

I was fascinated to hear that you are drawing a basic income from patreon. Great idea, particularly the way you've implemented the BIG network idea there. I'm long term unemployed for various reasons that I won't go into, and a basic income like that would be so enabling (and stress reducing) for myself and others in my situation. When I consider the idea that I could draw a basic income like that myself, it's interesting how the dynamic plays out. I can't help but feel an involuntary touch of guilt at the idea that I could get money for nothing. Even as a strong supporter of a UBI, for both practical and moral reasons, the ingrained social conditioning that we all suffer from to varying degrees plays out. This is the first time I've felt that. I think this might prompt an article from me in the future.

Anyway, welcome (even though you've been here longer than me by a week or two). Look out for me in your BIG network on patreon if I can overcome the ridiculous guilt of trying to "get something for free"... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78