SteemIT Beta and Beyond - Kick Starting Profitability

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone I'm Nikolas, a new SP holder and a professional SEO/SEM/CRO (Search Engine Optimizer, Search Engine Marketer, Conversion Rate Optimizer).

My career in the field actually started out on a similar centralized website back in 2010 called Squidoo (wikipedia link). The earnings in my first few months were miserable but I continued blogging away, reading on how to carve-out better content and learning everything along the way (code, seo etc). 


Squidoo Logo - Centralized Content Network 


Around 4 months in and roughly 100 posts later I was earning enough to pay the bills but was somewhat worried of building my house in someone elses backyard (the risk of centralization). That urged me to build out my own website and take my knowledge of gathering traffic to the next level. 

Fast forward 3 years later I hit the reddit homepage was getting constant search engine traffic, had multi-variant tested just about every revenue stream possible and was slowly getting requests (for paid work) from other website owners. The same year Squidoo was closing down and moving to Hubpages. My foresight had been right, you could say "I got lucky".


Google Analytics Live - Hitting the Reddit Homepage back in 2013


SteemIT brings back the passion I had built throughout my early internet years and I would like to help out create "the next big" thing. While still in beta SteemIT is ripe of gathering revenue outside Steem Dollars from the likes of Google Adsense, affiliate networks (like Amazon), direct Media Sales and more. 

In my upcoming blog posts I will be analyzing each advertising model and how the community can earn more individually and collectively. I will also be dedicating time to a detailed technical SEO audit for SteemIT with an easy step by step guide you can also use to leverage your own website.




Sort:  

Since this website is community owned (via SP) many people would not like interruption based advertising. A cool model is via the steempower itself where companies can "sponsor" content that they like. Kinda of like product placement in movies. But it has to not to obvious to get flaggeg by the community.

There's quite a few methods that are non intrusive, more details when I get the post published as it will be quite detailed.

I'm not sure if Steem would benefit from ads. Because there are so much ads everywhere else, it would make sense to differentiate and offer totally ad-free platform.

If Steem (the blockchain) becomes successful, Steemit (the company that has developed Steem) doesn't need any revenue from ads because it will make huge profits from selling steem (the currency that they hold a lot) to other users.

It's huge win for everybody if we can build the community completely without ads.

Welcome Nikolas. There is probably a lot of room for improvement here. This platform is still in beta, so it is great to have SEOs/SEMs/CROs come along and do some analysis. :D

Welcome @repholder! Hopefully, you continue Steeming here for a very long time.

Here are some posts to help you get more traction and exposure to your Steemit posts, startup, business or self:

[HOW TO] Public Relations Training For Startups, Steemers & Steemit: PART 1

[HOW TO] Public Relations Training For Startups, Steemers & Steemit: PART 2

[HOW TO] Public Relations Training For Startups, Steemers & Steemit: PART 3

Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help you become more successful!

Welcome! And go to hell! xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46