You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Galactic Mayan Weather Report... on STEEMIT! :cD

I do wish to weave the ultimate masterpiece of my life, this is just one of many things I came to this planet to do. Your posts are like revelations. The name of your post gives me chills. Back in the mid-eighties I spent two years working with the Mayans as a missionary in the jungles of Central America Belize. I was there during the time the archeologist dug up one of the Ancient step Pyramids, that you can now see in the Brittanica encyclopedia. We were a medical mission camp, but we also cooked dinner every evening for the arccheologist.

Sort:  

Wow! THAT is an incredible experience @rensoul17!
Ever since I was a young boy I was enamoured with Peru and the Inca civilisation. I eventually found my way there 10 years ago, and that was where synchronicity lined me up with my teachers of that time. All of middle/south america speaks to me like a second home. I always dreamt of what it would have been like to take part in those archeological expeditions, discovering those ancient masterpieces and feeling the old energy rushing out of them as they were uncovered.
How was the experience?? The Mayan Culture is deep and expansive, truly masters of Time & Space.

It was a great experience, although I stayed busy cooking and visiting the villages and assisting the nurse to help those who got sick. We were a medical missionary camp, located on a tropical fruit farm. That was when I first discovered Plantains. At first, I thought they were Bananas. Actually, there were to groups of people that lived near our camp the Mayans and another group that lived in houses on sticks, they had their own witchdoctors, they were/are the Garifunas. Every day there was a new adventure while toiling through 123 degrees (in the shade) heat. And it was monsoon season, so it rained constantly. I remember the small artifacts that the archeologist brought back such as clay-like spoons and bowls found near the unearthed step pyramid mound. The most beautiful thing of all was to hear the Mayan children sing. They sang using every inch of their energy and they clapped and danced. I remember thinking their voices were so nasal they sounded like Alvin and the chipmunks. I hated to leave and in some way, I feel I left a part of me there. And I bought apart of Belize back home with me. ...Oh well, back to work thanks for reading and listening @thecreativerebel

Thank you for sharing @rensoul17! I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the adventure! It feeds the creative rebel in me. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51