Hi , I'm Renae Leith-Manos a Sydney based writer, renovator and mum

I live in Sydney, Australia and grew up as an only child in Adelaide, a city (thankfully) dotted with as many churches as pubs. I’ve had my share of challenges, both financial and emotional, having left home at 17, then struggling to find work when I moved to Sydney in my late 20’s.The biggest hurdle was divorcing in my mid-30’s after a decade of marriage, with 2 year old twins and no family support.The life tonic for me has been a combination of my beautiful children, fitness and health, a low sugar diet, travel, making amazing friendships,  renovating houses and living in the moment.

Through reading everyone from Eckhart Tolle to Oprah, Brene Brown, and every other book of inspiration I could get my hands on, I realised we are all forced to confront the meaning of life at some point, and the answer lies within. We are the only ones who can change our lives.

Throughout my career as a journalist, I have been exposed to so many successful, inspirational people from Bono to Kylie, Kate Moss, Elle Macpherson, David Beckham, Richard Branson and Elton John,  who have also confronted their demons, and found meaning.Competing for Australia in sprint triathlon in Chicago in my age group last year was a life highlight, as was launching my first website www.bondibeauty.com. But I’ve realised baking the best sugar-free chocolate cake or lying on the grass on a sunny day reading can be just as fulfilling.

I believe life is 10% what happens to us, and 90% what we make of it. No-one can do it for you, not rich parents, a loving sibling, a wealthy husband, or a close friend.  We wake up with ourselves, and we are born and die alone.

I’m a journalist by profession, who ordinarily hides behind the people I interview, but we all come to a point in life where it’s time to come clean, take a risk and be honest. I hope here, to give something to others. (Gosh I hope I don’t sound old!).

I’d love to hear from you.

Love,

Renae

With my son at The Peninsula, Beverly Hills where we stayed as guests, and had an incredible once in a lifetime adventure in May 2016.

With my daughter before dinner at The Peninsula, Beverly Hills in May 2016. 

Sort:  

Hello Ms Renae, welcome to #steemit!

Wow, a Sydneysider!?

From one Sydneysider, to another, I thought I would drop in and say hello! :D

I will be posting an article on Sydney very soon. I live near Balmoral Beach (likely, the most underrated beach in the entire world) and recently (yesterday) had a trip down there with my 10 year old niece (her father is sick in hospital), so I thought I would share some of the beautiful scenery we have in Sydney with fellow Steemians ( these perfect winter days, are really getting me down, you know!? ;) ).

May I ask, how did you find out about Steemit?

Glad to have you on board. Perhaps we could do a Sydney meetup for Steemians, that could always be some fun!?

Thanks for the #introduceyourself, you have some beautiful children and a great attitude, which is very endearing (easy to see where your kids inherited their looks from, by the way ;-) )

I believe life is 10% what happens to us, and 90% what we make of it. No-one can do it for you, not rich parents, a loving sibling, a wealthy husband, or a close friend. We wake up with ourselves, and we are born and die alone.

I also am a firm believer of this, and your ideology appears to be directly inline with mine. I am glad to have connected with you.

Followed and upvoted.

Kind regards,
Optimistic

Hi Renae, welcome to Steemit! If you don't mind, could you please add a picture of yourself holding a Steemit sign with your username? We get a lot of identity theft spam on here, and so we just ask that anyone who is willing, to verify their account with a picture. :)

how do the bots identify a spam post does it require admin approval?

Mostly case by case basis. There aren't really admins or moderators in a typical sense. Anyone can post anything and no one can stop you. Similarly, anyone can flag anything. With enough flags a post will diappear through the news feed quickly. This is not censorship, since the content is permanently present on the blockchain for anyone who wants to see it. It is simply an algorithm for allocating finite visibility on the platform to "valuable" posts. There's a team that try to find spam and identity theft on the steemitabuse-classic channel on steemit.chat. Usually if an account ignores multiple requests for verification, especially when they are clearly not trying to remain anonymous, that's a pretty good sign.

Would you point us to some of your writing?

Its hard to hide behind people with that smile! Nice introduction. Welcome.

Hi @renaesworld! Welcome to steemit. Could you please post a pic with a steemit sign or post a message on the other sites you own announcing that you are now a new member of steemit? Unfortunately there are always fake accounts so many steemians won't upvote your posts until they are certain you are a real account owner :o)

"Through reading everyone from Eckhart Tolle to Oprah"
Nice

anybody sees the pattern here?

What makes you feel like a boss?

We need more unique people like you around here

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42