You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greedy Minnows Chasing Whales – First impressions after my first week on Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Very good post again and one can easily see, how many things you say are true. At least for a big part.

Before I forget, you can access steemit also through busy.org. With the URL https://busy.org/@username you can see a persons blog, filtered by own and resteemed content 🤓

I think, your start here will very much determine your "user experience", at least in the beginning. I'm only here.. hold on, let me check... 53 days. Obviously I watched completely different tutorials, as to me it seemed pretty clear early on, that bugging whales can easily backfire.... Plus, (I guess I'm a weirdo) I do like in real life... I'm only interested in things that really interest me and that's where I put my energy.

When I started, I felt so super mini little, that I had zero expectations about making any money. I felt lucky, when people made interesting comments and there were some truly inspiring conversations. Of course I was always thankful, that my friends didn't "forget" me. Out of respect I try to always be kind, but I don't think I'm known for kissing ass... actually, when I lived in the States people often told me, I had a go to hell attitude... 😜

So, yes, all the mechanisms you describe, exist here for sure, but let me add some comments.

About things staying in the blockchain: see, when I paint a picture, I expect it to be around.. when you record a song, its the same. Even if in 10 years from now, you have a different opinion about it, the recording likely still exists. Should that fact limit you in any way? As artists we are all passionate about our work, but for me its also important, that my work will evolve and therefore change. And if something I write or do is carved in stone here (like just about everything you ever put on the web), so be it... it is what I thought or did at that time!

The issue of what is rewarded and if it is fair or not, is being heavily discussed. I must admit, that of course I'd gotten disappointed too, when I got 1.47 $ for a post that took me hours to put together and I put a lot of effort in it and I was super excited posting it full of expectation of how people will be totally amazed at my outrageous creation... well, as you so rightfully state, it simply doesn't work that way. Someone takes a photo of a ca... I mean a... bird, and whoops.. that thing is on trending and gets even more attention...

Not much different from the art market 🤡

I was thinking of that 7 day limit too yesterday. The question is, would it really make it all fair, if the time frame was longer? I might just as well only multiply the negative effects 😒

What I find... how should I say.. funny(?) is upvotes of 0,09% of some people here recently. From people with two digit amounts of steem. Hahaha... is it a slap in the face? I don't get the message.

Anyways.. there are a lot of flaws and no matter how good a system is, there are always the ones abusing it. I expect steemit to face some major challenges in the future, but so far I like being here and I certainly learned a lot.

Plus I met you here Corinna! Can't be so bad after all 😉

Sort:  

About the issue of wanting to delete stuff - you said it better than I could @reinhard-schmid, though I also commented on it in my own rather lengthy diatribe. Once you create something, it is out there, for better or for worse. I could think of quite a few cringe worthy paintings of mine that wound up in private collections I would rather want to get a hold of them and burn them!

Lol... I think we all have a few of those 🎃

Wow! Thank you so much for that link. Now I can see Steemit at work! It still won't let me log in and use my account but at least I can read the comments. Right now I type articles, email them to myself, run into the hallway, post them with the app on my phone (a real pain in the ass to type on this thing). Will write more later. Thanks!

Busy has some nice features... wonder why you can't log in. Shouldn't distract you from your job though 🙂

You are right @reinhard-schmid - I checked out Busy and logged in. But what I said in my comment to this post was confirmed by checking the tag 'art' on Busy: you can scroll until your fingers bleed until you find something that actually warrants the tag, and further until you find something that without hesitation you can actually vote for and/or resteem. I just done so with one artist, @muhammadfajarm who, like so many of the Asian artists I had met on the internet, has exceptional technical skills.
What I do like about Busy is that I can do what Coco was asking for: filter the posts.

Its that filtering feature I like the best!

@corinnaherden - you should be able to log in: I just did!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71