I am Ana: self-sufficiency, healthy living and community-driven solutions enthusiast.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemit community! When I have been afflicted with severe auto-immune condition and depression, I was a shadow of my former self. Overweight, lethargic, sleeping 12+ hours and so exhausted I could not even stand for more than 15 min without having to sit down, and more than likely drop off to a nap. That lasted for years, and once I was finally diagnosed doctors only wanted to put me on synthetic hormones for the rest of my life.
I took a different path and opted for a more natural approach. Long story short, I completely recovered despite what doctors told me, and without any side effects their so called "medicine" would have given me. And that last experience finally put me over the top. II always knew people could come up with original solutions to the trickiest life challenges. But after that "healthcare" debacle I realized that if we the people will not take care of ourselves, we will perish. And the most offensive thing is that we will go down believing that the good life we have been promised was just within our reach, but somehow we missed it. Not knowing it was all a big lie, designed to mislead. No one is minding our interest is we do not go after it ourselves.
In my journal here I plan to focus on what I know well: healthy living, natural food and cooking etc. However, I am also interested in social justice and community causes, money and financial matters, business and community building, psychology of growth and change and much more. I expect to be active in great many posts on variety of topics.
I welcome everyone to comment and contribute to discussion, and I do hope to make some good friends.

Sort:  

Hey Ana,

Welcome to Steemit! I enjoyed reading your post very much. Your point about the limitations of modern medicine really struck a cord with me. I'd been struggling with chronic fatigue and brain-fog for a long time and my local doctors were not really able to give me an effective solution. I've become much better since resorting to a more holistic approach to well-being and changing my diet. I'm not fully cured yet, but I do think I'm getting better.

Looking forward to seeing more of your content.

thank you! please see my posts on supporting your health and testing for adrenal fatigue (it may be useful to test, based on the symptoms you mentioned) I am planning to write a separate post on a. fatigue, but for now I just want to tell you this - please consider getting glass bottled good quality water and be sure to only drink that water, 2-3 liters a day for a while - you will most probably feel better just from doing that (I hope your budget and location permits). I hope you feel better and wish you the best!

Great to have you on here Ana! Here is to more of your journal and shared experience @regeneration. It sounds like you have already begun to turn your #health around in a wonderful way, very well done to you, taking those first steps is incredibly important and the change that result from them can completely #changeyourlife for good. If you are still gathering information and working it in to your new life style might I recommend https://surginglife.com where you can find a good deal that will help you generate a positive and healthy lifestyle.

Welcome Ana! It is good that you could take your health into your own hands. We just lost a family member who could not take that step. I look forward to what you have to offer. Followed you.

thank you for a warm welcome! very sorry to hear about your relative.
let us work together to get the real stories out so people can make informed decisions.
best to you and all you love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69