Intro for RedQ – A RayFugee from KurzweilAI

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello brave new world

Dali

I was one of the original and longest-term posters on the forum at KurzweilAI. Reportedly the 36th person to sign up there, for more than a decade it was the only site on which I regularly participated . My posts were among the ‘most commented on’ but, frankly, a lot of the comments were hate speech. I think my best introduction is simply some examples from my threads there, updated for Steemit:

Consciousness Beyond Life by Pim Van Lommel -- A discussion of a book that changed my thinking. Must read for those interested in the science of consciousness and NDEs.

Fringe-ology: The Conehead Conspiracy -- Coneheads! Conspiracy! Fascinating! The inspiration for the tag "Fringe-ology" is taken from the book by the same name, which I will review soon. Tag for topics that are a little -- well -- fringe.

Ketogenic Life Extension -- Life extension and a low-carb diet - two of my favorite topics in one place! If you are trim without health issues, it's worth a read. If not, it may save your life. I mention another thread in the post, so have included it on Steemit, "A Big Fat Lie" which deals with Gary Taubes' famous NYT's piece of the same name when he was the Science Editor. The Times immediately fired him.

I got a million of um.

As to academics, I have degrees from the University of Alaska (B.S. Mining and Geo. Engineering), University of Utah (M.S. Geophysics) and a J.D. from Harvard. That from a guy who never had a high opinion of school. Go figure.

My jobs have been . . . well, that’s too long. Let’s just say my day job is mineral exploration and my enthusiasm is dabbling in futures trading. Posting takes away from my dabbling.

I hope this is the start of beautiful relationship.

RedQ

P.S. I am enthused by the brilliant user interface at Steemit. I am hopeful for a knowledgeable, civil discussion of a variety of topics. When the muse moves me, I like to write and I appreciate critiques. I would truly love it if Steemit could be a place to test the robustness of ideas.

As to money, figuring out cryto-currencies is Greek to me. Maybe if I move from embryo to minnow status, I’ll try to figure it out.

Sort:  

You should check out fellow keto-traveller @Cristi's stuff. It might not be news to you, but it's nice to have people who share your enthusiasms.
https://steemit.com/research/@cristi/what-happens-when-you-stop-eating

Hi Dr. Rand, thanks much for the link.

I remember you. I think you were the one who introduced me to Pin Van Lommel's research. Very interesting stuff that, so thanks!

Hi Extropia, good to see you. The Consciousness Beyond Life thread engendered a long discussion at MindX, and resulted in a number of people reading the book. Not so much here ;(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77