Welcome to my SteemIt Blog

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone on SteemIt.

I'll be blogging only about IT.

I still write on a static website I have in Github pages, but it is not often the blogs are also published - you know - it takes a large effort to create the quality you'll find on Medium.

I have been around in IT for years. My first programmeble device was a calculator and later I got a Vic-20.
Vic 20
(Img from Wikipedia).

Today I have a Tablet PC running on Windows. Only two month ago I was running on KDE Ubuntu (Kubuntu), but it seems like you cannot get Ubuntu tweaked to work flawlessly with tablet features. Yes - you can get most of the way, but right now I think I will regret it.

I have recently swapped from Angular via Stencil WebComponents to React Components. Since React don't play too well with WebComponents (preferably you want to write a React Wrapper around), then to avoid writing double code (the wrapper) then I skip the WebComponent and go directly to React.FC.
I still love Ionic components. If you are into React you should try Ionic's seemless integration into CRA.

Of backend I haven't really settled, yet. I've been impressed by Feathers, Firebase and AWS Amplify.
On containers I have used Docker Swarm, but only seldomly use it. I like how OpenShift has integrated the whole workflow into one package and how OpenFaaS builds on top of a Swarm to give you unlimeted FaaS possiblities.

At work I use the YAML pipeline for IaC and building C#. Privately I would probably prefer Pulumi for Azure deployment, but still it does not seem to beat the AWS CDK API in a beautiful workflow.

I hope to get more time to work on a SVG presentation of a GraphDB and probably feed it with Blockchain data.

I guess you have an image of what stuff I find fun by now.

See you around.

Sort:  

Ubuntu:

I'm still using Ubuntu Mate 16.04. But you know that they come out with updated versions of the different operating systems each year in April. So, I'm contemplating trying out different OSes again. Every few years I do that. I was using normal Ubuntu since like 2007.

Unity

But switched to Mate around like 2016 after I got tired of the Unity UI. Oh, years ago, I think my brother had that Commodore keyboard video game computer console thing as seen in your photo above or something that looked almost identical to it, assuming there were different ones that looked similar to that. That picture says Commadore VIC. I will have to Google that to see.

Tablets

Is Ubuntu not working very well on tablets? That is too bad then. I'm no expert, but I should buy a tablet someday and experiment in order to figure out what might work best on a tablet. I just use my laptop, generally, so I wouldn't know.

React

When you say React, are you talking about an OS? If so, then it sounds like it has a limitation then.

Web Designer

I have done web design and I know how to Google to find code, but I don't know a lot of code personally like you do. I am more a writer than a coder. I mean, I just like to write. But some years ago, I was working with a friend on a Facebook competitor website called Mea Omnia. After like a year, we kind of gave up on that project. But that was before I knew about Steemit which is somewhat similar to what we were trying to build. So, I have experience in building websites. I know that it is a lot of work.

Nice to meet you, @joeyarnoldvn.

Commodore VIC-20 had a big brother - Commodore 64, but my pocket money didn´t reach that far :-)
It had a little RAM and instead of disk it had a tape recorder.
Around the same time the first PC's came out, but they were terribly expensive.

Also Elon Musk and Linus Thorvalds started out on VIC-20.
It is increadible how far such people can get in life, when they put as much effort into what they do.

But at least we are trying. You, too I see. That is a nice ambition you had there - to compete with Facebook.

React is one of the top javascript web frameworks.

With tablet I mean a PC with tablet features - you can fold the keyboard under the screen. The PC should then deactivate the screen and mousepad, so you will then use touch screen and onscreen key board. A few other features are also needed like auto rotate screen when you turn it in portrait. The PC is born with these features in Windows, but only some of them I can find in Linux.
Too bad, since when you deploy to cloud you will in many cases run on Linux and then it is convenient also to have it on your develper box.

Thanks for the chat, joeyarnoldvn. See you around

Did you say that the Commodore 64 had a literal tape recorder or do you mean something similar to a tape recorder? That is interesting. A little RAM but probably a lot at that time for many people. I didn't know that Linus and Elon would have things in common lol. You said that React is a javascript web framework. I know Java is a type of web code like HTML. Not to say they are the same. But what does framework mean? Does that mean React is a type of javascript? I have a laptop that is like that tablet you described. You can fold the laptop around. It is touch screen. On screen keyboard. So, there were some Ubuntu operating systems that were attempting to work with touch screens. I don't remember how successful they were.

Welcome rasor1!
eSteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Steem.

Download Android and iOS apps. Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thanks for the tip, Bot

Congratulations @rasor1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks, Bot

Welcome to steemit @rasor1.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thanks for the tip, @tuanis

Greetings @rasor1, Welcome to the steemit blog!

Thanks a-0-0-0-real-dex

Hey rasor1! If you would like to make your personal feed contain the top trending media and talking points of the whole internet, consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts - And welcome to Steem!

Thanks, @coffeebreak. I follow you.
But I am not a pro writer, that deserves to be on top. Thanks for thought, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68