You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! I'm Tony (@rasor) - IT Professional, Crypto enthusiast, massive geek and a dad.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Thanks for breaking the ice.

I've been lucky enough to hold some Bitcoin since 2014, I've played with mining and exchanges; I'm no expert there. However I do know security, social engineering attacks and computers; it's these aspects people don't factor in until it's way too late.

Sort:  

Agreed. Would you recommend any Anti-Virus/Malware software? Chrome extensions. Would really appreciate an answer. And thanks for the reply.

Honestly the best thing in terms of security right now is to get a Ledger Nano S or Trezor and stick your coins on it (I'll post about them); essentially it stores all your private keys encrypted offline and any transactions made via your wallets need to be physically authorized.

If the Trezor/Ledger is stolen or lost you can restore to a new (or desktop wallet) using the 24 word key (this you will need to store securely).

Offsite backups of your wallets/passwords is a must; but encrypt the data.

Basically if it's easy for you to spend, it's easy for me (or a hacker) to get.

A/V I'd go for Sophos Endpoint; any free A/V only detect a virus after you've been infected.

Thanks for the advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58333.83
ETH 2280.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50