Wife, Mom, Teacher, and now Steemer?

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello steem!

I've heard a lot about you. No really, a LOT! My husband @team-leibniz is a crypto enthusiast and happens to be a teacher so not only is he really excited about steem, but he also explains EVERYthing about it to me...in great detail.

Sometimes more detail than I need while I'm just sitting here in my PJ's trying to watch Pitch Perfect.

Part of me is being supportive and listening to him talk about something he is so interested in, and part of me is really curious. Why do make up tutorials and photogs get the same amount of "attention" as the super dorky (again, my husband teaches math...this is a term of endearment in my house) crypto, codey, cyber posts? And why do some of the really interesting posts get none? Trust me, he has explained it, but I still don't entirely get it. So...why not try to share a little about myself and dive right in!

I live in Bloomington, Indiana which is a pretty amazing little city. It also happens to be the home of my alma mater, Indiana University (Go Hoosiers!). I graduated from IU in December of 2003, and yes that means I was a Freshman when the infamous Bobby Knight got fired, but we don't bring that up much around here.

I majored in Spanish Education, mostly because of a 7 week immersion program through IU in San Luis Potosí, Mexico I was lucky enough to be a part of in high school. I taught one year of middle school then 11 years of high school. This Fall I'm making a big change to K-6 Spanish at my kiddos' elementary school. Let's just say I'm "nervo-cited" and there are a bazillion more teacher-y things I could tell you about.

In addition to my school "kids" I have two awesome children.


My son is 9 and has "High Functioning Autism" which basically means if you saw him out and about you'd have no idea he was any different than any other 9 year old, but if you have a real conversation with him you'd figure out pretty quickly that his brain works a little different than the rest of us. He's very inquisitive and has zero filter. He's also caring and funny. He makes us laugh all the time, but we also worry about him going through life.
I also have a 6 year old daughter who will be 7 next month. Although if you knew her you'd think she was turning 17. She's beautiful and brilliant and into princesses and make up and music. She's starting show choir in the Fall...which is perfect for her, but means I will be a "show choir mom". I'm not sure if I prefer that over "soccer mom", but at least the uniforms...I mean costumes are better.

So steem...I've told you about me. I'm a Wife, to a really dorky (again, that's a good thing) guy who loves Math and coding and crypto everything. (He's literally reading me a steem post as I'm typing this) I'm a Mom of two amazing kiddos who make me laugh and smile and proud every single day. I'm a Teacher who loves what I do and the students I do it for. And I'm trying to decide if I want to be a Steemer while I ignore the pile of Legos on my living room floor, the 11 year classroom that is still "in transition" in the back of my car, and the random bird post my husband keeps talking about.

Sort:  

nice to have you here:) you have a nice family and I can only hope you will have success here. I am also convincing my wife as well to start writing here as well. We have a pug, and she is running a personal blog, and now we have seen a better way to monetize it.
Welcome in the club.

Thanks! I'm excited about the potential here and having some fun with posting. Good luck to you and your wife!

Hi, I don't have a family yet. I would be happy to have a girlfriend.
Am trying to make money here so I can invite 'her' for a dinner.
And because it's good quality blogging,
I want everyone to vote you up.
In the hope someone will vote my post because I do not make enough as a blogger (right now). I like how all the stories flash through my mind.
I have funny original content, too. Videos
about me marketing
Steemit on the street.
Peace :-)

Exciting to have ya!

You seem like you are really having fun with your family! Feels great!
Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! We do have a lot of fun. That's what it's all about, right? Hopefully we can share some of our fun here on steemit!

Awesome to have you on board!


"Be yourself; everyone else is already taken."-- Oscar Wilde

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72