My Art Journey Story...

self portrait.jpg
Hello everyone
My name is Salem (also known as the Rain Walker). I come from a small country on the Mediterranean Sea called Lebanon.

I’m a self-taught artist who never had a chance to go to art school due to financial issues and family issues. Art wasn’t much appreciated back when I finished school in early 2000’s and it was looked down upon as a career. I had to draw for many years in secret while doing a mundane job and taking courses in Architecture and Graphic design.

In 2009, I had some health issues that lead me to the ER with a troubled heart. I remember when I was on the hospital bed thinking about my life and what I really want out of life, the only thing that came to mind is I want to be an Artist. It’s all I ever wanted.

That day I came home, and I decided to take a leap of faith and go all in. This was my first drawing.
start.jpg

I knew it was a long way to go to become a pro artist. But I was determined to do it no matter what. Life is too short to not be able to do what you love. Art is a blessing and a curse, a blessing in that it will change your life and make it better, and a curse that no matter how far you try to escape it, it will always hunt you down and get you back to it.

2009 to 2011 I only did pencil portraits
hana f.jpg

2011 to 2014 I was doing oil painting exclusively.
painting 15n.jpg

And since 2015 I went full digital, started my Youtube channel (/c/SalemShanouha) and my Facebook page (/salemshanouha/).

7 years after that day, I still have a boring day job, but once I get back home, I work on my art. Studying, researching and developing my skills as an artist with the help of the art community online. Even though I never had a chance to go to an art school, with the help of some amazing artists out there I was able to advance my skills and do some pieces that I’m proud of.
I found out 2 days ago about Steemit, and it was really interesting for me to try it out. I will post some of my work here, along with videos when I have them.

Hope you like what I have to offer and I would appreciate all the feedback from the wonderful community of Steemit.

See you around :)

Sort:  
h1sprywtg
Hello @rainwalker

You have been upvoted and resteemed by @art-trail as one of the top artistic picks of the day. Your post will be submitted to be considered by the SteemTrail community for their upvote and to earn Trail Coin.

For more information about joining the Art-Trail and SteemTrail community, join us on discord.

oh wow, thanks guys I appreciate it :)

Hello @RainWalker,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Wow this is outstanding... thank you so much guys I didnt see this coming. What a welcoming community you have here i love it :)

Welcome once again! Thanks for the verification on Twitter. You have some great work. Do keep posting your latest work on Steemit :)

Thank you for the suggestion @liberosist. Happy to learn how things works here and will post my work on Steemit from now on. Its such a warm and welcoming place :)

You've inspired me, thank you for telling your story and welcome to Steemit!

Thank you @elementm hearing that really cheered me up ^_^ thank you

I'm glad, I'll be looking out for your posts :) !

Welcome to steemit @rainwalker great words of wisdom. thanks for sharing your story and beautiful art pieces you have there...

Thank you @dreamland. Glad to be in this warm and welcoming place ^_^

hi @rainwalker welcome to steemit

Thanks @mars9 :) glad to be here

you are welcome

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome to Steemit as a new artist in this community.

Thank you @kalemandra glad to see other artists here :)

welcome and congrats for your fantastic work

@speckofdust Thank you so much :)

thanks to you for sharing your habilities, i hope to have 1% of your talent someday, visit my blog to see my draws (most of them are actually in progress)

Trust me your there. You have the imagination to reach much higher levels.. You are on the right path.. just keep fighting the good fight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41