Hi Steemit! Pro tech reviews, independent thinking, cat lover.

I'm the kind of person that spent over an hour pursuing funny introductions and trying to figure out how to seem interesting and intelligent and witty and humble all without trying. I had a rough outline in my mind, set up Pusheen, and then, like always, life didn't adhere to my plans.

download_20170721_203620.jpeg

That's Daisy peering up at the stuffed cat. Daisy BuCATan, specifically. Mr. J. Catsby looked on from across the room, unhappy that I set up Pusheen on the cat tree but too lazy to do much about it. They both live with my boyfriend and me in the D.C. suburbs.

So why am I here?

I've spent the majority of my professional career researching, analyzing, writing about, and reviewing technology. I can't publicly link to the company that I formally work for, but it's in the S&P 500, known for technology research, and rhymes with "partner."

I strongly believe that blockchain tech is going to radically change how we do business online. It's a cheap, secure way of doing business, and while it's never been scaled to the enterprise, or even really tested in the long term, I'm hedging my bets that getting involved in the community now can only benefit me in the long run.

Cool, Rach. But everyone most people are here for more than just observations. What's the focus going to be for your account?

Using Steemit is going to be a bit of a "test" for me. In the past, I've run blogs with s super-specific purpose, like what it was like to live in China, documenting what it was like to be on Tim Ferris's diet, offering advice to Millennials interested in money, and libertarian feminism—and that's all discounting the formal writing I do for work. More often than not, unless I'm writing about business and productivity, I've used a pseudonym because I don't want to create a "brand clash."

Welp, no more.

I've decided to post on multiple forums, all under my own name. I warn you: I'm a naturally inquisitive, nerdy person, so I'll most likely be found writing about professional topics, but if an occasional post about body paint, Rocket League, or one (or both) of my cats sneaks in, so be it.

You'll mostly find my writing on:

Productivity stuffInterestsFun topics
TechnologyPsychologyCats
BusinessFictionFunny
MotivationWritingGaming]

(This is Mr. J. Catsby, or, "JJ," providing the kind of original content you can't plan for.)

20170626_192715.jpg

There are a number of trends that I've been following for a while, and I'd love to hear about what other folks are currently interested in too. Right now, the tech I'm stoked about includes:

  • Affective computing: Computers that can sense emotions
  • Brain-computer interface: That's exactly what it sounds like: connecting tech to your brain. This also relates to augmented bodies, which I'm also following
  • Citizen data science: Making big data accessible to everyone—no coding required.

(Of course, I'm going to be covering a lot more than just that, including the blockchain. Definitely leave a comment if you're interested in something specific.)

I'm interested in the same things! Can we be friends?

That's just the question I was hoping for! I am actively seeking out people already in my communities of interest, especially if you're a regular writer, personable, and excited and willing to exchange ideas.

Follow me: @RachelBurger

Sort:  

Welcome, I hope you choose the right pill.
I followed you and resteemed your post, follow me back at @morpheus03! :)

Thank you, @Morpheus03! Followed back :)

Welcome to Steemit! Nice introduction and a wonderful cat! :) Your determination and your thoughtful planning will hopefully work out well here on Steemit.
Please read my welcome. SteemOn! :)

Thank you, Daniel! And now I know I can post gifs, hahaha.

Yes, you can just throw them in 😉
Sorry for the messed up text. Posted via esteem app but it didn't work out well. Also, it crashed so I could upvote.
I fixed the text and you have my vote now. I would never make this comment without upvoting your post. Apologies for the confusion.
SteemOn!!

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

NEW STEEMIT BOOK FOR NEWBIES AND SEASONED STEEMERS authored by @tinashe and @feltik
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

Welcome here @Rachelburger !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me!

Followed! Love how quickly you got on board!

Welcome to Steem @rachelburger I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Awesome, thanks! I sure will.

Welcome to steemit :) I also do covers, play violin and do videos on youtube as well. We have to support each other on steemit, that's why I upvoted you :D

Thanks Jean! I appreciate the help on my first post, and I'll be sure to watch out for your blogs. Followed :)

yo thanks so much I'll be checking you out!

Hi @Rachelburger its good to see more people around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Hello @rachelburger. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Thank you, David!

Hey there @rachelburger! Welcome to the platform :]

Thank you! Excited to get started :)

Great intro, gives me inspiration for when I finally get around to mine. Can't wait to see all kinds of pics of the great Catsby, because, you know, cats.

Nothing wrong with loving cats ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43