Crazy cat lady from Vienna says shalom #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My first post ever on Steemit, yeah! Let’s all grab a beer or a drink of your choice – I even serve herbal tea on this special occasion - and celebrate with me this unique moment but keep in mind: I am a bloody beginner. Cheers, l’chaim and Prost! (There will be a German version below the English post)

Who da hell…?

My name’s Ursula, born 36 years ago in Linz. I’ve been living in Vienna for the last – let me count…OMG! – 17 years and I love cats, books, films, geeks, traveling and complaining about public transportation. This may sound like the start of a letter back in the days when we used to have penpals in far away places like…Bavaria (true story) or the guy in London my English teacher forced me to write to even though I didn’t wanna talk about motorsports. I am trying hard here, OK?

Always wanting to escape small town mentality I came to Vienna in 2000, majored in theatre/film/media studies and communications and found out, that I have a thing for queer movies #samelove I got my PhD in film studies and had a fabulous time doing research for it in Israel and working for a film festival in Tel Aviv. I also wrote a book about it in German: Israelischer Queerer Film (with the most amazing drag queens on the cover! #strikeapose).

As you cannot live from writing about movies no one knows, I worked as a journalist for TV, film, radio, magazines,…Nice jobs, a lot of shitty people and the occasional awesome person here and there. Now I am working with young people who aim to become journalists. I established a youth reporter network in Austria and it’s the most rewarding job I’ve ever had. To see my youngsters’ progress, getting their first internship, starting a blog etc. – it’s just awesome. Period.

Oh, I am managing a party in Vienna. Who would have thought, right? It’s a queer Israeli clubbing called Kibbutz Klub. And seriously: my friend and I started it coz there was no club or bar whatsoever in the city with this kind of trashy Israeli pop music. Add a lil’ Beyoncé, Madonna and Eurotrash and tataaah: here we are, voguing queens included.

Oy, what else?

I am the crazy catlady your momma warned you about! Meet Mrs. Murphy – my 15 yrs old diva, who loves the following: meowing at 3 in the morning coz she wants cheddar or tuna, scratching my new sofa, getting lost in the basement that I – afraid of basements since “Silence of the lambs” – have to rescue her. The list could be longer, but I keep that for another post.

Books! Reading – one of the most important things in my life. Discovering new authors, finally starting my bookclub, talking about stories I’ve just read or the dramatic lifes of turn of the century badass female writers – love it.
Traveling – next destination Thailand in January. Hope it doesn't end like in "Bridget Jones 2" ;-) I’ll keep you posted. Till then – I would love to hear from you guys!

<--------------------------------------->

Und das Ganze nochmal - in Deutsch!

Mein erster Post auf Steemit EVER, yeah! Ihr dürft euch jetzt alle ein Bier oder ein Getränk eurer Wahl holen – ich serviere auch Kräutertee an diesem speziellen Tag – und mit mir diesen einzigartigen Moment feiern. Aber nicht vergessen: ich bin eine blutige Anfängerin. Cheers, l’chaim und Prost!

Wer um alles in der Welt…?

Mein Name ist Ursula und ich wurde vor 36 Jahren in Linz geboren. Ich lebe seit – lasst mich kurz mal nachrechnen – OMG! – 17 Jahren in Wien und liebe Katzen, Bücher, Filme, geeks, Reisen und beschwere mich liebend gerne über die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. Die sind doch immer zu spät, oder? Unglaublich! Ich merk gerade, dass ich klinge wie der erste Satz in einem Brief, dem man seiner Brieffreundin geschrieben hat. Ihr erinnert euch – DAMALS, als man noch Briefe geschrieben hat. Mit Briefmarke drauf und so. Man hatte BriefreundInnen in ganz fernen Gegenden wie…Bayern (yep, true story) oder in London. Das war allerdings ein Typ, dem ich schreiben musste, weil mein Englischlehrer mich gezwungen hat. Und ich wollte nun wirklich nicht über Motorsport schreiben. No way!

Eines war immer klar – ich will raus aus der Kleinstadt. Also machte ich mich im Jahr 2000 auf nach Wien, studierte an der Uni Theater,-Film,-Medienwissenschaft und Kommunikation und hab ganz nebenbei rausgefunden, dass ich queeren Film ziemlich toll finde #samelove Also habe ich noch meinen PhD in Film Studies gemacht und hatte eine sehr großartige Zeit in Israel – forschen, am Strand liegen, Leute interviewen und bei einem Filmfestival in Tel Aviv arbeiten. Fabulous time. Ich hab dann auch ein Buch darüber geschrieben, sogar auf Deutsch (weil’s darüber wirklich gar nichts in dieser Sprache gibt – Wahnsinn, oder?): Israelischer Queerer Film (und am Cover sind die schönsten Drag Queens – ich schwöre #strikeapose).

Weil man vom Schreiben über Filme, die eh niemand guckt, nicht leben kann, habe ich als Journalistin für Film, TV, Radio, Print etc. gearbeitet – coole Jobs, ganz viele furchtbare Leute und hin und wieder die eine Person, bei der du dir denkst: genau deswegen mach ich das! Jetzt arbeite ich mit jungen Menschen, die JournalistInnen werden wollen, es aber teilweise – wegen Wohnort, sozialer Umstände etc. – schwer haben, aber unglaublich talentiert sind. Also hab ich ein Youth Reporter-Netzwerk in Österreich aufgebaut und es ist der schönste Job, den ich jemals hatte. Meine Youngsters auf ihrem Weg zu begleiten, ihre Fortschritte zu erleben, ihr erstes Praktikum abfeiern oder sie beim ersten eigenen Blog unterstützen – wunderschön!

Oh, und ich hab eine Party in Wien. Wer hätte das gedacht? Kibbutz Klub ist ein queeres Israelisches Clubbing. Und ernsthaft: mein Kollegah und ich haben das gemacht, weil es in ganz Österreich keine Location gab, die trashige israelische Popmusik gespielt hat. Man gebe ein bisschen Beyoncé (the queen!), Madonna und Eurotrash hinzu und tataaah: fertig ist der Kibbutz Klub, VoguerInnen inklusive!

Oy, was denn noch?

Ich bin die verrückte Katzenfrau, vor der dich deine Mama gewarnt hat! Darf ich vorstellen: Mrs. Murphy, 15 Jahre, geschiedene Diva, die folgendes liebt: um 3 Uhr früh miauen, weil sie entweder Cheddar oder Thunfisch will (oder eine Kombination aus beidem), mein neues Sofa zerkratzen, sich im Keller verirren, damit ich – panische Angst vor Kellern seit „Das Schweigen der Lämmer“ – sie retten muss. Die Liste könnte noch länger sein, ich werde berichten!

Bücher – mein Lebenselixir. Lesen ist eines der wichtigsten Dinge in meinem Leben. Neue AutorInnen entdecken, meinen eigenen Buchclub starten, über Geschichten sprechen, die ich gerade gelesen habe oder das hoch-dramatische Leben von badass women zur Jahrhunderwende besprechen – ich liebe es!

Reisen – nächster Stop: Thailand im Jänner. Zum ersten Mal. Ich hoffe, es endet nicht wie bei "Bridget Jones 2" - aber ich bereite mich vor ;-) Ich werde berichten. Bis dahin würd’s mich freuen von euch zu lesen!

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rabergerin/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/UrsulaRaberger
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ursula.raberger

Sort:  

Good post.
Welcome to steemit

Sounds like a great project to support young reporters :) Gonna support this with an resteem + upvote from @welcoming, my service for sharing promising newcomers!
Liebe Grüße, @theaustrianguy

Servus Ursula, willkommen auf Steemit. Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schaue einfach mal in unserem Chat vorbei: https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch

welcome to steemit @rabergerin, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Welcome to Steemit Ursula and Mrs. Murphy. I don't own a cat but I'm crazy about them. :)

The first official cat show in the UK was organised at Crystal Palace in 1871.

Hello @rabergerin,congratulations and welcome on steemit.com
Take care

Peace

Welcome to steemit community, insight, experience and knowledge banayak once here we live just how to take and learn it and you also can share anything interesting to be published in this steemit, salam know from me @teukukhaidir. thank you

Hello and welcome to steemit, Ursula :)

welcome to u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90