Immigrating to the US? What's not!!! Darn bad idea .

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

  Life can sometimes seem cruel and the direct definition of cruelty is poverty in Lagos, Nigeria. I am Salem, a steemified economist born and bred in downtown Lagos, a slummy area with consistent gang killings, corruption, and mutilation of lives and properties. I have seen soap operas, movies, and documentaries of living in America and I am fascinated by those, however, interestingly are the polarity I have come to discover during my first week in the US. 

I have got this weird feeling that the American community gains from its homogeneity in purpose and race but I have only discovered it gains are from the homogeneity of being sick in the head. From the teens to the nigger dads, everyone is sick. My plane touched down at Dallas-Fort Worth international airport, very smooth immigration except my food stuff that was seized of which I wasn’t offended. My first point of contact outside the airport with the Americans was the cab driver, damn very crazy criminal. I thought the Nigerian princes are the only scams in the world, the American cab drivers are scams. I was cheated due to being new to the metering system. Still, I don’t understand the metering system but the guy kept tweaking it the meter and the dollar count kept jumping right after he discovered I’m new. Then he drove round and round the Greyhound station to increase the fare. He told me downtown Ft Worth is unsafe and he introduced me to a black police officer. Trust me everyone at the station seems sick with the area filled with smoke puff even with the covered smoking area. I asked him how much and he requested I stay with my luggage while he checked on the meter. He came back with a bill of $65. I was amazed because such would only cost around $10 in Lagos, nonetheless, I paid. I preferred my safety over challenging the dupe but later recalled while we were two buildings away from the greyhound station, the meter read around $57. 

I suppose my nightmare would end there. Everyone speaks something close to Spanish and announcement was in Spanish. I felt I wasn’t in America. Americans speak English not Española. I almost missed my bus because I never even knew the announcement was an announcement. It was time to board the bus and the smokers from the greyhound smoking area rushed out and the bus was filled quickly. Almost 39 out of the 42 on bus seem so abnormal to me since they just got out from the smoking area, and unfortunately, I got the back seat with the weirdest of guys.  

Everyone on the bus with a different character, a big guy who sat beside me kept on calling his girl in a loud voice even when the bus driver blatantly told him it’s against the bus rules. The guy sitting in a seat away kept on speaking to himself repeating fuck and motherfucker every few seconds. Those words are considered unkempt and uncivil in outside America but it seems it’s the only word in the American dictionary. Everyone says fuck for so many fucking times. Fuck!!!   

My nightmare failed to cease as I discovered more about the untold amazing but disturbing American culture. Sit tight and relax as I discuss more disturbing aspect of the American culture for immigrants in my subsequent post. This is Salem and Fuck you steemit!!!     

Sort:  

Congratulations @qoma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61