Pyrodigm Shift: My Introduction

Greetings fellow Steempunks!

My name is Lorenzo, I was born and raised in South Africa. I currently live with my beloved wife in Cape Town, where I work as a wine and spirits trader, dealing mainly in imported Italian wines. If you haven't guessed, I am of Italian descent and maintain a strong cultural connection with my ancestry through my life and work.

shades-mcgee.jpg

All my life I have been avidly curious about computers, having received my first one at the tender age of 13. Fast forward 24 years and I'm still at it, toiling away online day in, day out. I am currently in the process of learning about cryptocurrencies. I am also deeply interested in other topics relating to futurism such as artificial intelligence, third wave computing, space travel and sustainability in general. When it comes to applying myself I do so with fiery passion (thus the nickname) tempered with cool patience (I try).

Upon discovering Steemit, I immediately fell in love and created an account. I am adamant that I will contribute something of value to the community that will help push it into the mainstream. Even though I've hardly had a chance to absorb any of it, I respect its premise too much to say how at this stage; just know that I'm in the process of learning and planning. These are early days and we're at the forefront of the social media blockchain revolution. Exciting times!

It goes without saying that I'd like to commit to becoming a witness, setting up a node and participating at large. I'm still wrapping my head around the details of doing so. I also like the sound of curation, I'm somewhat of a proof reader and I think I could do well when it comes to checking posts, etc. for validity.

Credit Due

I would like to thank @jerrybanfield for having inspired me to pursue Steemit in this video series. His is a remarkable story of overcoming personal demons by facing them with humility. Go support him now.

That's it for now. I hope to update this in the future once I explore this rabbit hole a little further.

Lorenzo "Pyrodigm" Gabba

Sort:  

Hello, Pyrodigm, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Cool, good luck with that.

I feel welcome. :D

Welcome :) let's do our best here

Thanks, break a leg!

A new Steemian :-) hello @pyrodigm I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

That's much appreciated. I'm looking forward to the w/e when I can start browsing the community with a bit more time to spare. ^^

Welcome to Steemit! You made a great choice joining this awesome community. You’re going to have a great time here.If you have any doubts, you can always join Steemit.chat and ask for #help.

Thanks, I created an account on Steemit.chat. :)

Right now I'm going through the whitepaper published recently in the hope to come to grips with the community's founding principles.

Congratulations @pyrodigm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thank you, I appreciate the heads-up. More than wanting to make money, I love that this is a platform that allows me and everyone else to do just that. So right now I'm just enjoying getting oriented.

Congratulations @pyrodigm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90